We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”
Review of The Office Bar

The Office Bar
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Hoonah
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Loved that when I ordered a half pint the bar tender looked at me and said we only serve pints! Good beer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank YourCruiseAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Gilead NC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Best Crab on the Planet!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

During our Celebrity Cruise Tour we to Hoonah and boy was it worth it to stop by this tiny home town bar & restaurant! The atmosphere was really cool and down to earth. The staff was very friendly and service was fast. The beer was cold and great. BUT best of all was the crab. Right out of the pot on to your plate. I have eaten crab all over the world nut nothing compares to this meal. It was great to be around the locals and this place is open year round. Talk about hardy folks, they are hardy for sure. Dungeoness crabis not easy to find but it is abundant there for sure. I could have eaten another but might have blown up! My brother-in-law who was with my wife and I on the cruise also stated the best he has ever had. When we left they had just put a crab in the pot that was one of the biggest I have ever seen. Once the pictures are in order all 1000 or so of them from the trip I will add it to this review. Yummy is all I can say. If U R in the area do not miss eating here! In the meantime here is one to savor over!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh crab, great experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here after my whale watching trip with Glacier Wind Charters. The dungeness crab was huge and full of sweet succulent lump meat. The crab cake sandwich and potato salad were top rate. The beer was icy cold. Stop by and have a bite to eat if you are in Hoonah, AK.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHE1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Dungeoness crab a great choice”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Tavern-like atmosphere with nice water views. Crab and Alaskan brews fit really well in your afternoon plans here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Crab I have ever eatten”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is a very basic place but the fresh crab make up for the lack of restaurant luster. Very laid back! You must take this trip into downtown and venture out away from the tourists!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 305soccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Office Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing