We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Ranked #4 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Homer, Alaska
1 review
“Comfortable B&B house”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Great Ocean view, delicious breakfast and nice owner.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hanfang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    13
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
104
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a short six day vacation in Alaska. It was our second visit to this magnificent state with the first two years ago on a Princess Cruise/land tour which brought us ultimately to Denali National Park via the Alaskan railroad. The impetus for this visit was our niece's graduation from UAA. Though very early in the season (first week of May) we decided it would be ridiculous to not spend a few days exploring a different part of Alaska. So I started my research. I had heard enough good things about the Kenai peninsula to know that was where we needed to explore. After checking out Cooper's landing,Soldotna, and Anchor Point, I settled on Homer, which is at the end of the Sterling Hwy and about a 4-5 hr drive from Anchorage. I then conducted some very extensive online research, including Trip Advisor. I contacted the Homer Chamber of Commerce for recommendations. In the end I decided on Halcyon Heights B&B. The reviews were outstanding, the location above the town overlooking the bay and mountains, and the establishment was recommended by the Chamber; all criteria for my approval. Halcyon Heights exceeded our expectations not only in comfort, cleanliness, a great bed, scrumptious breakfasts, but mostly because of our hostess, Juxia Scarpitta. She is a wonderful lady who loves to laugh and converse. She was attentive to our requests and we felt immediately at home. She steered us to the best restaurants and called ahead for reservations with window tables. My wife and I are outdoors people and we love to hike and kayak. Prior to leaving Arizona Juxia had told me about a side trip on the Sterling Hwy (Skilak Lake Road outside Cooper's landing) that would afford good opportunities for hiking. We took her up on the recommendation and had a great 2-hr hike along the Kenai River, which was a nice break on the drive down to Homer. Juxia also remembered our discussion on kayaking and she took the time in advance of our visit to research the opportunities and reserve a spot for us. That full day of sea kayaking in the secluded coves across Katchemak Bay was the highlight of our stay. Juxia even joined us and we had a fantastic adventure.

All in all if you want to experience the great outdoors, enjoy fabulous accommodations, hospitality and food, visit Homer, Alaska and stay at the Halcyon Heights B&B. Juxia will treat you like royalty!

Enjoy!!
Trip and Betty Sproul
Tucson, Arizona

Room Tip: contact the Chamber of Commerce
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripSproul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better host in Juxia. We had 5 different families all share her home. The rooms were private with private baths, breakfast was "made to order" eggs along with fresh fruits and special recipes. Despite the overcast weather we had, the experience of the host made the trip up to celebrate this occasion very special. In total we had 13 people and the pictures from the home overseeing the Homer Spit hang on the wall. I not sure you could find a better place when staying in Homer...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djcaufield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Halcyon refers to that which is calm, peaceful and tranquil. If that is the goal of your visit to Homer, then Halcyon Heights B&B certainly lives up to its definition!! Halcyon Heights is the warm and friendly home of Juxia and Stephen, and they welcome you to their home as they would a long lost relative or close friend. Your peace and comfort is their goal for your stay with them. Not only are they host/hostess extraordinaire, but they made our trip to Homer such an enjoyable one. Juxia worked with us for almost a year, providing expert advice on planning our land tour, and for that we are most appreciative. She and husband Stephen had recommendations concerning shopping, artists and restaurants, which made our brief 2 night stay much more efficient than if we had used the trial and error method of touring Homer. They were able to point us in the right direction, not only in Homer, but all over the state on our driving tour. The breakfasts were especially enjoyable, with Juxia’s delectable selections. This would be an incredible place to have an extended stay. Our group of four had a 2 BR/2bath/kitchen apartment available. We felt pampered, and can hardly wait to go back!!! Halcyon Heights is one of the true treasures of Homer, Alaska!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowball43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Are you seeking comfort, quality, value, service and friendliness all rolled into one stay? Look no further because Halcyon Heights B & B in Homer, Alaska is what you are seeking. The host and hostess, Stephen and Juxia, not only welcome you as friends into their home, they are also able to provide travel tips for the wholle state of Alaska. Jusxia and I were in contact for almost a whole year prior to our departure on our trip. She helped with some of our arrangements during the planning stage. My group spent two nights in Homer, and we wished for a whole week there. Along with our tasty breakfast each morning, Stephen is quite knowlegeable aobut artisans, restaurants, shopping and so forth in Homer and the surrounding area, and he was able to answer our questions and provide suggestions for our stay. We continue to correspond with our friends, Stephen and Juxia, and when we return to Alaska, we plan to spend several days in Homer at the Halcyon Heights B & B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mesquite_TexasGoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Arrived without reservations and she helped us out. Room was excellent, view was to die for with walkout balcony/porch quiet, large, and comfy room. Breakfast was wonderful with ample food and she would ask prior to what you would like. Her Reindeer sausage was the best in all of Alaska! Juxia also filled us in with maps and made reservations for us for halibut fishing and also another B&B in Anchorage for us. Very helpful and knowledeable with a great sense of humor. Our first night we sat and drank wine and visited...it was great. This is the best place in Alaska by far!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

During our Alaska vacation, my wife and I stayed 17 nights at 9 different B&Bs. Halcyon Heights was the best. We stayed three nights. Both the accommodations and breakfasts were the best of our trip. But there is much more.

It was obviously important to Juxia (Ju--shia) -- the owner – that we enjoy her B&B, enjoy Homer, and enjoy Alaska. Before we arrived, Juxia made reservations for us at a popular restaurant. When we got to the restaurant, we discovered Juxia requested a prime window location for us. We enjoyed the great meal along with the beautiful view. Juxia also made reservations for us with a bear-flight viewing company. She picked this company because – if bad weather prevented the flight – we could still go the next day. (The bear viewing was the best part of our trip.) One day of our stay was rainy. Juxia suggested interesting places to go on a rainy day. We had to leave very very early our last morning and would miss Juxia's great breakfast. On our last night, Juxia surprised us with two sack breakfasts for the next morning. To sum it up, the accommodation are great, the views are great, the breakfasts are great, and Juxia will do her best to make sure you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
136 reviews
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
304 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn

Property: Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Address: 1200 Mission Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on East Hill in Homer, Alaska, only 6 minutes to downtown, this proud Alaska Bed and Breakfast/Inn will thrill you with its spectacular views of the famous Homer Spit & Kachemak Bay, the Grewingk Glacier & the Kenai Mountains, Homer itself, and more! If you've never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast lodging before, Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn is the place to start. Recommended by National Geographic Adventures, Best Places Alaska, Moon. Close to Wynn Nature Center and winter ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing