We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was something we had thought about doing for years!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alaska Adventure Cabins
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Fair Bluff, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was something we had thought about doing for years!”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We always stay on Skyline Drive. This year I had my dates a little mixed up so we decided to take advantage of the Alaska Adventure Cabins, something I saw on line a long time back. Due to lack of availability at our usual place on our first two nights there we booked one night on the boat and the second night on the Pullman Car. We had asked for internet for our jobs and also about the sleeping arrangements. Our little boy had to sleep uncomfortably the first night and on the floor the second night. Great view but caused us discomfort and to get behind online, my husband is a professor and we have four vacation rentals of our own. We lost some business due to our slow responses to our renters. We did complain and were told we could come up to the office to work. We have to check the internet quite often with our rental business and my husband has to put in at least eight hours a day. For that kind of price we did not expect those problems. There was not enough sheets and none of the usual supplies. There was tissue there and a nice view. We did try to get some help while we were there but felt like we were asking too much. After moving on we again complained to the owner. We were told we could have money off for a one night stay when we come back. We don't go to Homer every year, it is a long distance from NC to Alaska. We were enroute for 24 hours total to get there to have to then let our little boy sleep uncomfortably. The owner said he would fix the sofa bed with a foam mattress on top. I tried sleeping on that sofa bed, my husband and I fell through. Those places were great ideas, and on the outside they could not look more inviting. But I like to be comfortable in my own home, but to travel for a full day, car,fly,sit,fly,sit,car... I was ready for my family to be comfortable. I just hope that his telling us that "when we make it back this way to let him know and we can have a big discount on one night" will be honored even if we don't go that 5000 miles again for another five years.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank campfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryanzak, Owner at Alaska Adventure Cabins, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
As I have expressed over the phone to you we truly apologize the internet did not work for you. By September the Alders had grown up making this an issue we were unaware of and we did try to make other arrangements for you. We also have replaced the mattress on the sleeper sofa. Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

When we first began our Alaskan vacation, we had a few days of bad weather and were feeling a little disheartened by the time we reached Homer, which was our final destination before returning to Anchorage for our trip home. We checked into the cabin at a little after 3 p.m. The managers that lived on the property were very attentive and took the time to tell us some history and facts about both the property and the surrounding area. The cabin itself was very clean and very well furnished. There were 4 of us staying together and we were very comfortable in the cabin. The second day we were there we woke up and the sun was out and remained that way until the end of our trip. Homer is such a beautiful place. My friends had their 4th anniversary while we were on the property and the managers suprised us with a nice bottle of champagne. We left Alaska, after the Homer visit, wanting to return. We will DEFINITELY stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a unique place to stay with wonderful staff and acommodations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR_Willoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed on the Double Eagle boat which one of about 5 self catering properties that form Alaska Adventure cabins. The boat is amazing and it's a truly unique location. All of that said, we did think that for the price we paid, there may have been a few more nice touches. For example, our daughter slept on the sofa bed which meant she had no curtains and there is a lot of daylight in Alaska in August.
We met the owner and he was lovely - although the lady who worked in the office didn't seem that bothered when we told her we couldn't use the key to lock the door.We guess it all depends on what you're after.
If the location is everything to you then you'll love it otherwise save your money and book one of the properties available from the same owner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamtaFe NM
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2010

One of the nicest places I've ever stayed.
Incredible up-high view of the bay.
Clean, comfortable, great group space with privacy too.
Well-supplied kitchen.
All we could have asked for!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Don't let the words "Adventure" or "Cabin" fool you. Alaska Adventure Cabins are an exquisite adventure with all the comforts and luxuries of a first rate hotel. We stayed in the Dovetail Cabin--a cozy cabin with vast and stunning views. We loved the loft bedroom; it was luxurious but homey. Lovely quilts, soft night lights, and immense windows added to the ambiance. The downstairs offered a full kitchen, modern bathroom, and cozy living room. We only had one complaint--the cabin sat too close to the road to feel like a a real Alaskan adventure. However, all the other units sit away from the road, so definitley try one of them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

When I began searching for places to stay in Homer I came across this cabin. I knew that I HAD to stay here! Alaska Adventure Cabins has several options available but I fell in love with the DOVETAIL. The owners were wonderful, the location was incredibly easy to find and let me tell you about the views...unreal. The cabin sits on the bluff overlooking the spit and out onto the volcanoes around Homer. The log cabin has everything you could possibly desire to find! Warm bed, full kitchen, satelite tv, deck, bbq, you name it, they have it there for you! Luxury, comfort, you may end up like us, reluctant to leave!! Not only was the cabin itself stunning, but the views from every angle were spectacular. Even in the cloudy weather we experienced you couldn't help but feel in awe of the geography and the workmanship involved in creating this little slice of perfection! Seriously though, if you are looking for a cabin a step above the usual, you need not look any further.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
3.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
7.8 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
1.0 mi away
Alaskan Suites
Alaskan Suites
#2 of 28 in Homer
208 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 28 in Homer
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Adventure Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Adventure Cabins

Property: Alaska Adventure Cabins
Address: 2525 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-8301
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alaska Adventure Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Vacation lodge on 15 acres overlooking Kachemak Bay in Homer, Alaska. One vacation rental is a timber frame lodge, others include log cabins, a ship, and a railcar. World class fishing, large decks, full kitchens. Close to town with full kitchens. Great for groups, weddings, or just a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alaska Adventure Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing