We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaska Adventure Cabins
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ocean Shores(Homer)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End Resort(Homer)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$85
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
48
7
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanyon creekglacier viewwasher dryerrail carcomfortable cabinthe lower levelfully equipped kitchendownstairs bedroomclose to towngas grillwould stay here againgreat viewcaboosecobwebsdeckbayfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 60 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the DoveTail Cabin in Homer for the last 4 nights of our 2 week vacation in Alaska. Upon first sight, we loved the cabin. It was clean, charming and had the most spectacular view of Kachemak Bay. We probably would have left Homer feeling as much love for the cabin if we hadn't stayed there for 4 nights. But 4 nights of noisy highway traffic and too much nighttime light left us sleepless and tired and ready to leave. Bring ear plugs and sleeping masks and you will be fine. One note for the management if they are reading these posts... clean out the cabinets between visitors. No one likes to deal with someone else's spilled salt and pepper or crumbs in the silverware drawers. But thanks for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed three lovely nights in the Moose Caboose at Alaska Adventure Cabins. The owners, Bryan and Karen, have really thought through guest comfort. The cabin was equipped with everything we needed to feel "at home" in beautiful surroundings.

We grilled dinners on the spacious deck and watched the moon come up over Kachemak Bay. The grounds are beautiful, and fireweed was in glorious bloom.

My only nit would be that on our final night, the downstairs area of the Moose Caboose was rented out a group of late-arriving (after 11 p.m.) and very loud fishermen. Other than that, we had a lovely and peaceful visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethegreatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Coming from Japan, we are used to shelling out $$$ for accommodations. For Homer standards, $325/night for a 1 bedroom seemed average. Bryan the manager was very helpful & kind on the phone, even letting us move to another cabin after one night without paying the usual $50 fee.

Our first night was in the DoveTail, which is right on the highway. I wish I would've known it is directly above the general manager & her partner's apartment. We have a 3&4 yr old and it would have been nice to not be yelling SHHH and WALK to my kids while renting our 'own' cabin.

The DoveTail is a beautiful cabin and has terrific lighting. The sunrise in the morning could not be beat viewed from the upstairs bedroom. It is easy to find, has a cool, rustic vibe, and a very unique giant bison's head mounted on the wall. A leather chair sits in a bay window and is the best place to read a book! The views are some of the best we have seen from our 'hotel' window after 20 years of traveling.

A few of the drawbacks: The bed & hide-a-bed need to be replaced. My hubby & I both sunk to the center and woke up w/ sore backs. The hide-a-bed upstairs is very old & unless you are 3 or 4yrs old, it is not really an option. Once it is opened up, you cannot go across the bedroom without crawling over the bed. There is a single stand-up shower that is very old. Because of the great lighting, you can see the cobwebs everywhere in the cabin. Also, there were dead bugs (flies, etc) in many of the windowsills and in the corners of the bathroom floor. The toilet seat in the bathroom is delaminated and is stained yellow when lifted up. There were pots and pans available, but the Teflon in the bottom of the pots had been scraped up and was peeling off. The afghans and throws had a bunch of hair on them. You are paying for location at the DoveTail. Although $325 may be the normal rate, I expected a cleaner cabin, a newer bed, and a bathroom I wasn't grossed out to use. Perhaps these things are nitpicky to some, but to me they are standard and made a difference in our satisfaction.

The Double Eagle (the 75ft boat) is a very cool cabin. It is terrific for kids to explore and play in! The views are just as breathtaking as the DoveTail and it's more secluded and quiet.

We were told it would only take an hour to clean the Double Eagle, which is where we stayed the second night. An hour! The Double Eagle has three floors and 2.5 bathrooms! When we checked in a few hours later, we were just as disappointed. This cabin is $345/night. There were dehumidifiers and fans going b/c of the musty smell, and again, the dead bugs were in windowsills and many corners. A fly sat next to the Captain's steering wheel at the front. My 4yr old jumped right up to steer and begin picking at it. The bathroom was my biggest complaint. I had to wash the tub & rinse all of the hairs down before I could draw a bath for my kids. They would have skipped it but it'd been a couple of days and we fly home soon. There were dead flies behind the door which were rolled up in cobwebs. It would be lovely to spend $345 and not have to lay towels down everywhere I walk or wherever I want to put my make-up bag down.

This is our last stop after 3 weeks of traveling throughout Alaska. We rented an RV for the first week & wish we would have kept it to get ourselves to Seward and Homer. We could have spent even less and had a terrific spot on the spit.

The owner seems great and the GM seems great. The cabins just needs a few updates and new cleaning standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Glacier View cabin was incredible. Great view from my bed and perfect places to drink coffee or wine and watch the bay and mountains. Nicely appointed. Great location outside of town. A little road noise from the highway but reasonable considering the convenience and location. Nice gas grill and beautifully furnished. Exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the Glacier View Cabin for 4 nights in June 2013. It is amazing accommodation with everything you could possibly require, including a huge American-style fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine & tumble drier. There was only the two of us and so we had plenty of room as this cabin has 2 double beds, a single bed, 2 bathrooms, and a huge kitchen diner plus additional living space upstairs. The views from both floors are absolutely stunning, overlooking Kachemak Bay with the mountains and Homer Spit in the distance. As we were there in June it hardly got dark at all and so we spent our evenings admiring the view and watching sea otters (through binoculars) swim in the Bay, and bald eagles flying past. In the mornings, we watched the numerous fishing boats head out to sea whilst we had breakfast. Like a previous reviewer did, we bought provisions in the local supermarket - just down the road in town - and ate dinner in our cabin every night; those views are just way too good to miss having dinner out in a restaurant (however good the restaurant may be!) We would highly recommend this cabin and Alaska Adventure Cabins for a stay in Homer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews