We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Bed and Breakfast Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Winthrop, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“A Wonderful Bed and Breakfast Experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of finding and staying at the Homer Bay Avenue Bed & Breakfast Inn this spring. It is a lovely and clean place to stay with breathtaking views. The breakfasts were an Alaskan experience with homemade jellies and reindeer sausage. Lori and Mark were a great host and hostess and were helpful and informative in every way. They gave us great tips on where to go in Homer and even made calls for us and helped us book into a great fishing charter. I would highly recommend this stay to anyone visiting Homer.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view, 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were in Alaska for 3 weeks and traveled 1800 miles, we stayed at many B&Bs most were very nice and as advertised and expected. This was our experience at the Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast.
When we pulled in the driveway there was no directions to locate the office or where to check in, we parked and went to knock on the only house door we saw, we then waited and waited. We finally had to phone to reach someone to greet us; she said come to other side of the house to meet her, although there was no door in sight from driving in.
She was nice but seemed a little too impersonal and indifferent; she took us upstairs (not asking us to bring our luggage) straight to our room which was very clean but after no hello or how you, then left about as fast. The “Bay View Room” was in the main house and upstairs with a one narrow window view of the Kachemak Bay, they did not mention in their description of "spectacular views" their place is on the wrong side of the spit where the mud flats are when the tides out, virtually no waves and the lack of soundproofing in our building (hearing people in and out)
I would have liked to have walked over and at least try to look off the Bluff toward the flats but was never invited to look around, and felt like was imposing to walk past the side of their living room windows to get there.
They also mentioned or what caught my eye in their internet ad, was this wonderful looking kitchen and mention of buffet and hot food in the same sentence in a large room with many picture windows with distant views of the spit, tide in of course over the mud flats, we intern never experienced that offering and had a little cold cereal and some muffins in a small but again very clean little kitchen type area just outside of our upstairs room.
We were disappointed with this place and do not recommend it, this is the first review of any type I have ever left; my wife and I are very easy to please people and can normally over look about anything but not here, sorry not from what we expected from their advertising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianFeltner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_sky0311, Owner at Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We operate a full service Bed and Breakfast Inn from Memorial Day to Labor Day {approx May 20-Sept 6}. During this time, we are availablle 24/7 to our guests and happily spend a tremendous amount of time orientating guests to the B&B, town, restaurants, and activities. We offer a full hot breakfast daily with many fresh local products.
After Labor Day weekend, we shift to a "boutique hotel". At this time, the guests use a seperate entrance, the large Common Area downstairs is no longer available and continential breakfast is offered in a smaller area by the rooms. The yard and decks are still open to everyone. This being said, the nightly rate is reduced by 40%. I personally confirm everyone who makes a direct reservation and make these changes clear. We are a family run B&B and once school starts, our focus must shift there! Hope to see you this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are looking for a place that is run by two locals, full of tales of traveling, commercial and sport fishing, and overall life experiences you have found the right place. Lori and Mark welcome you into their home with open arms and go above and beyond any other hosts we have experienced.

My fiance and I spent the night listening to their travel stories from the state of Alaska and beyond! The view is amazing and looks at the Homer Spit and the mountains across the bay. Their newly finished rooms were extremely clean, the beds incredibly comfortable, and we even had our own private bathrooms.The next morning we ate and amazing meal of Juevos Rancheros and received some much appreciated local tips of where to go and how to get there. Lori and Mark are great people and very welcoming. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Their place doesn't have a fitness center per-say, but it does have easy access to the Homer Spi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Homer. Among the perks, a delicious breakfast in the morning or a continental breakfast for those getting up earlier. Our room had a private bath, which was nice. The second floor we stayed on had it's own kitchenette, which was great! The house was spacious with amazing views of Kachemak Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonkube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was the perfect place for our family from the lower 48 to rendezvous with Alaska relatives. Comfy beds, blackout blinds for the summer midnight sun and lovely decor in our rooms made it very restful. The area is so quiet, peaceful and close to all the kayaking, fishing, shopping and exploring we wanted. Lori and Mark are the perfect hosts, providing great breakfasts and recommendations for things to do and accomodating our requests. We definitely took advantage of the well-appointed kitchen to feed our group and appreciated all the thoughtful, special things the Mikols family did for us all four days we were there. Staying there was so much fun and we met many interesting fellow travelers! We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lori was a wonderful hostess and the property is new and delightful. We felt very at home and comfortable. Lori sent us to some good places to eat and gave us some history and ideas for the area. Would certainly recommend this bed and breakfast above all the rest !! Quiet, lots of atmosphere, and delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 721Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay, certainly the best place we lodged on our Alaska vacation!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
4.3 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1393 Bay Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing