We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We spent two nights here and they home was just beautiful. It was kind of them to let us use the washer/dryer for just $5.00. It saved us from going to the laundry mat. Breakfast was great and even though Laurie had been having back issues, she still made sure everything was running smooth....The only negative things I can say about this place was that you could hear everything that was going on in the rooms around you. Felt bad because my husband is a horrible snorer. Also, the bed was really uncomfortable. We never could figure out why so maybe it was just us. But the view made the two minor complaints mean nothing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redberry59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

What a wonderful place. We stayed in 5 different B&Bs in Alaska ant this was the best. Nicest people. Great location with great views. Great breakfast with very nice people. Laurie is so helpful and friendly. Don't stay anywhere else in Homer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CobblerRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We booked the suite. It was wonderfull. Lori was very nice and helpfull. We loved staying here and we loved the bear excursion with K-bay air.

Pos.
- location
- cleanliness
- quiet, private room and house
- hottub
- parking

Neg.
- none

Room Tip: Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We went to Homer, Alaska for our destination wedding. It was FABULOUS, thanks in no small part to Lori at the Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast. The main house and other houses on the property are lovely, quiet, and clean. Our room was perfect, and very comfortable. Lori makes a delicious breakfast, and is a wonderful hostess. The views are beautiful of the spit and the bay, and Lori always has great ideas if you're looking to get out in Homer and explore. If you just want to stay in and chat, Lori has some great stories, too.

She went above and beyond what I ever expected, from accepting packages from my mom and I early in the week before we arrived, to arranging a small, delicious post-wedding brunch for guests staying with her, and some who stayed in other inns. Lori helped with all the small details of the day, like pressing my dress, and was a calming presence in the hectic few days before the wedding. She was always excited to see us and hear about our day, and I am so glad that we got to share this important time with someone who felt from the first like a friend, and who now IS.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Lori Mikols hosted our family and friends in July 2010 while we were in Homer for the wedding of our daughter.

She welcomed us into her Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast, as if we were family, for several days before and after the wedding weekend.

The accommodations were wonderful, but even more important, was how Lori went above and beyond the call of duty in making sure our time in Homer was everything and more than we had hoped for.

Our family and guests gathered every morning in her kitchen/great room and shared delicious, homemade breakfasts with all the fixings (prepared by our hostess) and great conversation, as we mingled with other guests from around the world. In the evenings we gathered for last-minute wedding planning and winding down before bed.
Lori went the extra mile and prepared a lovely brunch the morning after the wedding for all to enjoy.

She not only shared her home with us, but saw to it that our every need was met, including information about the Homer area (and Alaska in general). She even saw to it that we had a clothes steamer for the wedding dress when the dry cleaners fell through at the last minute.

Lori's "participation" in our wedding began long before we actually arrived in Homer because we had been seeking out her help/advice from the day we booked our reservations many months before. She was always willing to help!

The B & B, scenery and surrounding area were beautiful and Lori was a delightful, knowledgeable hostess. We are so glad we chose the Bay Avenue for our Alaskan wedding celebration/vacation and hope to return someday soon. We truly were sad to leave!

THANKS LORI FOR SHARING YOUR LIFE AND HOME WITH US!

Steve and Theresa and the Fam

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgwchicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at the Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast for 3 days at the end of our two week Alaska trip in July 2010 and it was excellent way to end the trip. Overall the rooms and house were extremely clean and the scenery very pretty. But the main benefit of this B&B was Lori, who runs the B&B. Before arriving, I changed the arrival dates at least twice and Lori was always every accommodating of these changes. Then once we got there, Lori was very welcoming, cooked fantastic breakfasts every day, and provided us with great conversation/stories about what it's like to live in Alaska. Lastly, Lori was very helpful in making sure we enjoyed our time in Homer by helping us planning activities, recommending restaurants, and even letting us borrow her bikes. Overall an excellent stay that I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Bay Ave B&B for 4 nights in mid August. The B&B is very pretty and overlooks the Homer Spit. The B&B is quaint, cozy, extremely clean and well kept. It felt like a home away from home only much better. The owners are incredibly friendly and share their amazing stories about Homer and Alaska. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed getting up every morning to look at the beautiful view while inquiring about what to do and see in Homer. On our last day we were fortunate enough to be there after the family went crabbing. They invited us to stay for lunch which was the best experience we had on our whole trip. It was truly a perfect Alaskan experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazakaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
4.3 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1393 Bay Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing