We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views with condo comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the Arctic Sun Suite and loved it, our favorite Alaskan accommodation by far. The fantastic views are the biggest draw here, and looking across Katchemak Bay to the mountains and glaciers was breathtaking. We had a small private deck with chairs and a gas grill but there was also a larger patio/deck area with hot tub and fire ring and another grill. The suite has 2 regular bedrooms, with a set of twin beds in the living area, so it could sleep 6 in beds with another person on the sofa if necessary. The kitchen was adequately supplied for making breakfast and lunch, cooking dinner was more of a challenge but we managed to do it one night. There is only one bathroom, but again we made do with what we had. The manager Sunny is great and anything you needed, she was willing to try to do for you. My only complaint about this place is that since it does get warm in Alaska on occasion (like when we were there) they should supply each room with fans (no a/c) and more of the windows should be able to open. Even if they would put a screen door on the outer door so you could keep the door open without letting in all the mosquitoes in Homer, that would help immensely. But these are small quibbles for a place that is in such an inspiring location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillcntrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our family just enjoyed 6 nights at the Ocean House Inn. We loved everything about it- from the comfortable King sized beds and guest hot tub, to the breathtaking views and prime location in Homer. The kitchen and appliances (plus grill) allowed us to enjoy some meals in which was great in combination with the wonderful recommendations we received for both restaurants and activities from Sunny. The nice TVs and WiFi were an added bonus- but who really needs that with the perfect view and 20 hours of sunshine?! Whenever we come back to Homer, we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Consider this accomodation not just as a place to sleep but as a vacation destination. If you enjoy relaxing in Adirondack chairs on a well groomed lawn while viewing nature's Imax of Katchemak Bay with a magnificient  mountain backdrop, Ocean House Inn will satisffy.  Multiple levels of decks and two hottubs are available to guests.   The service is friendly, rooms clean.  Beds are fabulous:  big, fluffy & comfortable. Paid $235 for a suite with two rooms, each with a king bed, and a private bath.  In suite #2 the decor is  a bit heavy and overdone which crowded the room--but who really cares about that with Katchemak Bay a stone throw away.  It's really all about the beauty of Homer and Katchemak Bay, not indoor decoration  Free wifi and a big screen TV in each room.  I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nansoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Ocean House Inn for 3 nights. Had a great time. Owner was very friendly and accommodating. View from room was fantastic. Room was quaint. Spent one afternoon in yard and porch enjoying the sunshine, view and hot tub, Great location for getting around Homer and the Spit. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julz1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed one night in a King room (and wish we could have stayed longer). Very clean, very comfortable bed, fantastic views, great deck, quality TV, very quiet, awesome location (ocean front, very close to the Spit, short drive /close to downtown). We chose Ocean House because of other reviews. Glad we did and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The location and views are superb! The beds are comfortable and the towels are nice. Love the outdoor hot tubs. Management was helpful and friendly. I really like the decor as well. The only detractor was the level of upkeep. The rooms were basically clean, but the gas fireplace didn't work, and there were cobwebs and dust everywhere. It's a great little place and worth the stay (a little pricey) but they really need to keep it up better.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak_roamer_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I booked the reservation based on previous good reviews. The owner Sunny was really nice & upgraded my dad & me to a condo that overlooked the ocean & the Homer Spit. Awesome view. The condo (Arctic Sun) was amazing. It had everything, complete full kitchen including dishes, pots, pans etc, 2 bedrooms (each with a large amount of decorative pillows lol ), a bathroom, living room area with a cough, 2 twin beds, 2 recliners & a large flat screen tv with cable. Everything was clean & quiet. We had our own deck with a gas grill & table & chairs. There's also a large deck in back with 2 more grills, chairs & a hot tub. Sunny gave us a great recommendation on where to eat dinner on the spit (Captain Patties). I recommend this place to anybody who wants to stay at a nice clean quiet place in Homer that has the best oceanview and has an owner that really takes pride in her establishment and has great customer service.

Room Tip: There are two buildings so ask for the one closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellepope123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos

Address: 1065 Krueth Way, Homer, AK 99603-7924
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range: $217 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel featuring Ocean Front property located centrally in Homer Alaska, minutes from everything . Large complex offering a variety of beautifully unique rooms, suites, and condos all newly remodeled with private bath and private entrance. Private Beach Access. Two large outdoor tubs overlooking Bay. Full service office and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing