We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I booked the reservation based on previous good reviews. The owner Sunny was really nice & upgraded my dad & me to a condo that overlooked the ocean & the Homer Spit. Awesome view. The condo (Arctic Sun) was amazing. It had everything, complete full kitchen including dishes, pots, pans etc, 2 bedrooms (each with a large amount of decorative pillows lol ), a bathroom, living room area with a cough, 2 twin beds, 2 recliners & a large flat screen tv with cable. Everything was clean & quiet. We had our own deck with a gas grill & table & chairs. There's also a large deck in back with 2 more grills, chairs & a hot tub. Sunny gave us a great recommendation on where to eat dinner on the spit (Captain Patties). I recommend this place to anybody who wants to stay at a nice clean quiet place in Homer that has the best oceanview and has an owner that really takes pride in her establishment and has great customer service.

Room Tip: There are two buildings so ask for the one closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellepope123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Ocean House Inn was perfect for our Homer visit August 27, 2012. The room was beautifully decorated, and the cozy king bed was very comfortable. The view from the patio
simply can't be beat. The Inn affords steller views of Cook Inlet and the Homer Spit and the beach below. The yard and gardens are lovely too.

We definitely recommend the Ocean House Inn when visiting Homer. We will definitely visit again and recommend the Inn to our friends and family. Thanks for the amazing hospitality.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a rear view of the main Inn building. The views are breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Suite 2 oceanfront and added on the second interior bedroom for an additional fee. Overall, this was a very nice place to stay. The location was beautiful and so was the decor. There were a few practical items missing though. There was no iron, although they did provide one after we asked. There was only one trash can which was in the bathroom, the second bedroom had no closet, no heat, no extra blankets and we had problems with the remote control. The rooms were also very dark. I still gave it a 5 because the beds were super comfortable and overall it was beautiful. There were just a few minor inconveniences that if fixed could make it even better.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristaDanville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Three traveling friends, we had reserved Suite #2 and it was very nice and comfortable – two separate bedrooms, each with king beds, and a shared bathroom. The property has a great view of Cook Inlet and on down to Homer Spit.

The owner, Sunny, was extremely friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We also coordinated with her on getting some laundry done. She would wash and fold our clothes for $15 a load – worth it to not have to waste time at the laundromat.

A great, comfortable place to stay with a very short drive down to Homer Spit. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place has a cute little property with stunning views of the water and mountains. It's a VERY short drive to the spit, which is where lots of Homer activities take place. The room was like a beautiful master suite. 2 heavenly king beds, a huge bathroom, great tv, mini fridge, dishes and silverware, etc. Highly recommended if you want to treat yourself a little bit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Ocean House Inn was an excellent value. Our stay was for two nights and we would have liked to stay longer. The bed's were wonderful, rooms are a little small, but cozy and well appointed and there were killer views just outside our door on the deck/patio area. The hot tub was a wonderful addition. There is easy access to the beach (a very short walk then a sturdy ladder down the seawall) which we took advantage of multiple times. It's in a great location with easy access to the Spit and the nearby Old Town area with excellent restaurants. Sunny (owner) was very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. Overall, there was really nothing we wanted more from our accommodations. When we come back to Homer, we'll stay at the Ocean House Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markwsheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stumbled across this B&B when my reservations at another location were lost, and I am so glad. This was a perfect quiet spot to enjoy Homer without the kitschy Alaska tourism stuff. Ocean House is exactly as it represents; a quiet, cozy, ocean side getaway. It offers a low key amenities, like the rocking chairs on the porch, a gorgeous garden and flower bed lining the walk to the beach, and the hot tubs near by. Sadly, we didn't get a chance to enjoy the tubs, but I plan on trying them out next time. This trip was great, with the personal touches Sunny put into our stay after chatting with her on the phone. I may come back without the kids next time, but I loved the fact that they were welcome. Either way, listening to the waves, while drinking my morning coffee and looking at the bald eagle eyeing me, was great.

I read the other reviewer's concerns about extra pillows, and honestly was left smiling. I've stayed at other locations that acted as though pillows were gold, so if that's the worst thing about Ocean House, I'm pretty good with that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
889 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos

Address: 1065 Krueth Way, Homer, AK 99603-7924
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range: $217 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel featuring Ocean Front property located centrally in Homer Alaska, minutes from everything . Large complex offering a variety of beautifully unique rooms, suites, and condos all newly remodeled with private bath and private entrance. Private Beach Access. Two large outdoor tubs overlooking Bay. Full service office and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing