We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Bed comfortable, Sunny was great at helping us prior to arrival and everyone we saw was very nice! Location is great! Only thing I'd say needs to be added to the room is blackout shades - we were up quite early with the sun because it burst in the window just after 6am.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDUTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the condos (upgrade from Sunny--thank you!). It was wonderful! The views were incredible and the area was so quiet, we felt as though we were on our own little island. It was great to prepare our own meals and grill outside. Would definitely recommend this wonderful place!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PABS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Ocean House Inn exceeded all expectations. The beds were so comfortable none of our party of nine wanted to leave. The kitchen was stocked with everything you might need or want. The location was amazing, right on the water, easy access to the Spit or downtown Homer. There was even a resident bald eagle that kept us with binoculars close at hand. When we venture back to Homer, will definitely stay at the Ocean House Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountaingirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Upside (of which there are many): great location, lovely views, clean rooms, good service, good water pressure, fun hottub. The downside,is that the rooms (at least ours) seem overdecorated and to value form over function. Fancy (and I grant you, comfortable) bed that barely fits in a room which is also stuffed with decorative pillows, a small tree, a loveseat and a chair. The few hangers can only be reached by lurching over the sitting chair. We were staying 4 nights and had a hard time "settling in". Overall, enjoyed the stay, but won't miss the giant, suffocating throw pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were pleased to return to Homer this year, and stayed this time in the Kachemak Ridge House. It's offsite from where we stayed before, so we were unsure what to expect. WOW! We stayed in a room upstairs with a private bath, cool eclectic furnishings, a little kitchenette and the most comfortable king sized bed. Best of all, we could sit back and enjoy the completely awesome view of Kachemak Bay. The family that owns the Ocean House Inn properties are attentive and genuinely care about providing their guests with a special experience and great accommodations. We took Sonny's recommendations from last time and returned this year to the Homestead Restaurant - excellent - and took the ferry to Halibut Cove during our day there and ate at the Saltry - also incredible. Our last dinner was at Fat Olive's. Honestly the restaurants in Homer include some of the best I have ever eaten at, and great accommodations just meant the entire experience was unforgettable...once again. We would actually choose the Ridge House next time, it was so unique and private. Thanks, Sunny and family!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TallahasseeLassie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Homer; and, we selected the Ocean House Inn based-on prior TripAdvisor reviews. Our stay was excellent in every way! Sunny was extremely helpful in making our visit great. Our room was exteremely comfortable; and, the view was spectacular.
We would highly recommend the Ocean House Inn to anyone visisting Homer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have taken small groups from Iowa to Alaska for several years. Having stayed other places, we now come back every time to Ocean House. We will return to Ocean House on our next visit. The views are amazing, but I look for more. The rooms are beautifully appointed, comfy and clean, with the right amenities. The family who owns and operates Ocean House are so kind and helpful. Our only dilemma is that the Ocean House staff treat us so well, it's hard to leave.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several different rooms on my travels. They are all great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
906 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos

Address: 1065 Krueth Way, Homer, AK 99603-7924
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range: $216 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel featuring Ocean Front property located centrally in Homer Alaska, minutes from everything . Large complex offering a variety of beautifully unique rooms, suites, and condos all newly remodeled with private bath and private entrance. Private Beach Access. Two large outdoor tubs overlooking Bay. Full service office and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing