We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Majestic View B&B in Homer. The house is up on the mountainside so provides a beautiful view of the Homer Spit and the mountains and glaciers across the inlet. We were travelling with one other couple so booked the main floor bedrooms (Blueberry & Cottonwood) which were very comfortable, and private for two couples travelling together. One room had a great view, the other not so much, but we spent a fair amount of time in the social area of the house which had an even better view and was very pleasant. One day we were able to watch 2 eagles in the trees in the back yard. Maria prepares an excellent gourmet type breakfast and you definitely won’t go away hungry. We stayed at the Majestic View 6 years ago and when revisiting Homer in 2013 we booked again. A very nice stay one more time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Even I knew the view would be great, it still surprised me. We stayed in the Blueberry room, with is facing the glacier and Homer spit all the time. I got to take some dusk pictures right in bed. Maria was full of charm that make people feel like at home. She knows the town very well, a good information source if we have questions. Then the breakfast is too generous, and Maria kept them coming. I can easily skip lunch! Glad I pick this place to stay 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just returned from our three week adventure to Alaska. Staying with Maria was for sure a highlight of our trip. We were warmly welcomed by Maria and her two doggies Brody and Blue. We were also greeted by three moose. Our room, with a little kitchen, had an amazing view and was warm and cozy. Maria's knowledge of the area and places to check out was very helpful. Fresh fruit, yogurt, and granola was perfect for us for breafkast but she was prepaird to make what ever we wanted. We highly recommend Maria's Majestic View B & B. When we left it was like saying good bye to a good friend. Thanks Maria for making our visit so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely two nights with the crew at the Majestic View. Our visit was special from the "Hawaiian Pancake" to the moose who sauntered in front of our window in the evening before flopping down in the back yard (in front of a picture perfect view of "the Spit") to watch another wonderful Alaskan sunset with her human brothers.

The location is the first special feature of this B&B, a home that overlooks the town of Homer and all of the scenic beauty it offers. Every view is awesome and the drive down to down breathtaking in its own right. The next attraction to this B&B is the absolute peacefulness it offers nestled in a beautiful setting. I spent both afternoons resting on the deck surrounded by nature's silent beauty. Finally, for those who are dog lovers, the Majestic's pooches are a treat. Blue and Brody are delightful furry friends who "fit" the property they love and make its experience complete. However, the best part of the Majestic is its people all of whom made the success of our visit their personal mission and offered friendship at every opportunity.

Breakfast at the Majestic's table was also perfect for conversation and tales of Alaska (and our wonderful adventure in this truly different State). You will not go hungry at this table. If you are visiting Homer and want to stay at an old friend's house, the Majestic is the spot for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blueberry Room which had the best view as opposed to the Cottonwood. Both of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickLori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Maria's for 3 nights in August - the rooms were well furnished and ours overlooked the beautiful water and mountains. Maria was soo helpful in suggesting places to visit. Her breakfasts couldn't be topped. One in our party was gluten free and lactose intolerant and she always had special muffins and pancakes for him to enjoy!!!! We stayed in many B&B's while in Alaska and hers truly was special!!!!
Mary Beth

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryBeth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dictionary.com defines hospitality as the quality or disposition of receiving and treating guests and strangers in a warm, friendly, generous way. Maria goes far beyond this...she welcomes guests into her life, which we found refreshing and engaging. The Rose Room was spacious with a walk-in closet and a jacuzzi tub/shower...the bed utterly delectable with a memory foam top. And the view...oh my. So the B and B is amazing but the real treat is Maria. Do yourself a favor...when you are in Homer, stay with Maria.

Room Tip: The Rose Room as absolutely perfect. You cannot go wrong. Book it now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Majestic for the beginning of our trip to Alaska. It is set in this cute little town of Homer surrounded by gorgeous views.

Maria's B&B is awesome. Not only is she a fantastic cook, but her home is so nice and cozy and extremely welcoming. She is also very knowledgeable on the area and is great to help you decide what to do! We recommend a bear tour :)

We also got to see moose walking through the backyard!

We hope to be able to come back and stay at Majestic View another time.

Loved it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kenai Peninsula Suites
2.5 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 30 in Homer
51 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1660 Race Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: $76 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing