We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous House, Rooms and View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Gorgeous House, Rooms and View”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Enough said in previous reviews about the view. It takes awhile to drive up the hill and find this place. But it is so worth it! The entire house is modern and beautifully decorated. Maria is a wealth of information and makes an amazing breakfast. I am sure that she works very hard, but gives the impression that it is truly a labor of love. The rest of her staff makes up for a possible lack of Maria's experience with their energy and enthusiasm. My wife and I have stayed at many B&B's all over the world. Our room at Maria's Majestic View was perhaps the most elegant of any of them. It had its own private balcony with that killer sunset view of the Homer spit. It was also spacious and decorated to the hilt. The bathroom was also huge, with a private jacuzzi. There were a few idiosyncracies. Despite the size of the room, it was not really equipped for dresser storage or hanging clothes. So we still ended up living out of our suitcases. And despite the size of the elegant room and adjoining large and elegant bathroom, there was no bathroom door, just a light curtain separating the 2 spaces. But all in all, this was still a great place to stay and we have nothing but pleasant memories.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Maria makes you feel right at home. She has alots of stories to tell and a great breakfast waiting for you each morning. Even has a great cookbook available for purchase with her favorite recipes. Beautiful home on top of hill that overlooks Homer and surrounding bay area - just a spectacular view both day and night time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CReed66546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We only stayed one night at Maria's, but we were so comfortable. Our room (the Rose room) had an unbelievable view and we had plenty of room to stretch out and relax. We especially enjoyed the moose in the driveway! Our breakfast was yummy: fresh fruit and berries, French toast, eggs, juice and coffee. Maria's is close to all the great stuff to do in Homer, and she was able to give us great advice on where to go and what to do. If we are ever in Homer we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maggieparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We spend a week end at Maria's bed and breakfast with my husband and my 1 year old. Maria was extremely accommodating with our little one and welcomed us in a very cosy/homy bedroom on the main floor. Maria cooked different breakfast every day and we could not decide what plate was best- the Alaskan pancake or the stuffed French toast...It was truly delicious!
We will definitely be back for some more Homer visits!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairemagdeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We were sent here when another B&B had no room. Maria is wonderful and the view from this B&B is spectacular. We saw a moose as we drove to the bed and breakfast and saw one again when we left. A car is necessary to get here, but it's a wonderful place to stay. The breakfasts were excellent and our room in the cabin was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blkatz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Loved the breakfasts, lots of choices, all yummy. Clean quiet room with a view. Great true B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildfelinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Had the Blueberry room for 2 nights with my friend Vivien, August 14 and 15. She made the reservation so it will be under her last name. The B&B is located on a hill top and the directions are a bit difficult the first time. The room was spacious and the 2 beds comfy. The only issue was that the private bath was not attached to the room, We had to go out into the hall to access the bath. Not really much of a problem, accept that the other room near us was occupied by someone, I think it was the owner's son. I also found him sleeping on the couch in the main room one night. Kind of weird. It seemed that the owner was away the weekend we stayed and so we had some fill in breakfast cooks. The first day the fill in needed to bring her sick child with her. Of course I then became sick and basically wasted the first part of my vacation trying to recover. The breakfast was just OK. That same day upon returning to the B&B at 3:30 pm, the front door was wide open and noone was around. They have lots of wildlife in these areas, including bears. A bit careless if you ask me. Also, some guests arrived to check in with no person to greet them. They proceeded to prowl through the house, testing the doors to the rooms. Good thing that mine was locked. The second morning the fill in was excellent and the breakfast was much better. Overall a nice place, Too bad the owner was away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
745 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1660 Race Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing