We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service spoiled our celebration”

The Chart Room Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 76 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Long a favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Chart Room Restaurant occupies one of the most spectacular waterfront locations in Alaska. We feature local seafood and individually prepared meals in a full-service, fine dining yet family oriented atmosphere. Enjoy the unmatched beauty of Kachemak Bay from the dining room windows; take in the awe-inspiring array of marine life and waterfowl from our outdoor deck, watch the local fleet as they round the spit and head out to sea. “Where Smiles and the Ocean Greet You at the Door!”
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service spoiled our celebration”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We decided to have dinner here to celebrate my husband's birthday. I made reservations on line indicating on the comments section that we had 1 gluten free eater, 1 vegan and 1 birthday celebration. The reservation system was easy to use. Upon arriving we were told the reservation wasn't in the book because we must have done it on line and the hostess replied she doesn't get a chance to look on line as usual. Why offer this option if she doesn't use it? Sshe had no window seating for us. It just got worse, waiting for our order to be taken, waiting for our salads to be delivered, no bread. Our waitress contined to apologize everytime she came to our table, as if the poor service had nothing to do with her. I did enjoy my menu selection but the other three diners did not. Many diners who had arrived after us were served quickly and left long before us. Too bad bad this resort restaurant doesn't live up to good service or food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marglowe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Chart Room restaurant, and I am very sorry that we failed to live up to our standard level of service for your party. The on-line reservation absolutely should have been recognized, and in our failure to do so we should have apologized immediately. I suspect our failure to honor your reservation and the slow service likely impacted your guests enjoyment of their meals as well. I would appreciate the opportunity to earn your business back, if you are willing please contact me directly at leceo@alaska.net and I will make it worth your while. Thank you for making us aware of the issues that you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    96
    54
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing special - except for the view”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Didn't stay at the resort, but had lunch here - salad and rockfish sandwich. Food was only average - only ate about half which is unusual since I love food :). Service mediocre as well. Nice view though.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Chart Room restaurant. The view is amazing from our restaurant and its outside deck. I regret that the food and service that you received was only average, that is far short of our Executive Chef's goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but...”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Old fashioned restaurant but it has great food with a great view. We ate breakfast and dinner at this restaurant all of the food was great. Expect it to be a bit more on the spendy side.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alaskansonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Chart Room restaurant. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your food and your experience in the beautiful setting on the shores of Kachemak Bay. Our Executive Chef has instilled passion and experience throughout his team in his pursuit of excellence with each and every dish that leaves his kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, AR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we hadn't ”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Found ourselves at Lands End around lunchtime and decided to stop in. Wish we hadn't. Had the chowder and smoked salmon with goat cheese salad. Chowder and salmon both could've been canned. Much, much better chowder at Capt. Patties. Best part of the meal was the tasty, creamy goat cheese and the great view. Have a drink on the deck, enjoy the view and eat someplace else.

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Chart Room Restaurant. I am thrilled that you enjoyed both the food and your experience. Our Executive Chef has instilled passion and experience throughout his team in the pursuit of excellence with every dish that leaves his kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent food, awesome views”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had luch and dinner in the restaurant. Both meals were fine. Lunch was in the bar to watch Wolrd Cup soccer. Fish & chips were just average but the beer was rreally what we needed. Dinner that night was fine. The food was good but not memorable. But the view was spectacular as the fishing boats came into the harbor and the sun was on the mountains across the bay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
The Chart Room truly provides a majestic atmosphere overlooking Kachemak Bay. My favorite place anywhere to eat is on the Chart Room deck outside on a sunny day. Enjoying a meal while watching the boats and wildlife from your window table or from the deck is very memorable. I am happy that you enjoyed your meal, but we did miss our mark. Our Executive chef expects excellence with every meal that is served. Thank you for choosing The Chart Room restaurant and I hope that you have the opportunity to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chart Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing