We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

The Chart Room Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 78 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Long a favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Chart Room Restaurant occupies one of the most spectacular waterfront locations in Alaska. We feature local seafood and individually prepared meals in a full-service, fine dining yet family oriented atmosphere. Enjoy the unmatched beauty of Kachemak Bay from the dining room windows; take in the awe-inspiring array of marine life and waterfowl from our outdoor deck, watch the local fleet as they round the spit and head out to sea. “Where Smiles and the Ocean Greet You at the Door!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A better than average hotel restaurant, located at the end of the Homer Spit. While everything was very good, the vanilla ice cream was exceptional.

1  Thank RichH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Chart Room Restaurant we are pleased that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the vanilla ice cream. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 348 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Dinner was very good. The seafood was great. The view was amazingly entertaining, we watched people fishing, eagles darting, ad thousands of birds migrating through. Wonderful spot.

Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing our Chart Room Restaurant at Land's End Resort. I agree, it truly is a breathtaking location, and there always is something new to see. There are a couple of eagles that periodically sit on the rail of our deck ten feet away from our guests watching them eat which I think they find entertaining too sometimes. Our Executive Chef Billy has made fantastic improvements to our menu, presentation and fulfillment over the last two years and it all starts with his expectation of excellence with every dish that leaves our kitchen. Thank you for taking the time to respond. If you have time to call, 235-0410, I would like to offer you something for a return visit if you have the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

First we had a wonderful dinner (05/24/2014), just great. Everything was fresh and so tasty that we could easily eat our fingers with the fork :) I was excited to have breakfast next day! And here came disappointment (05/25/2014):
1. they were moving so sloooooooow that we could starve to death before anybody come to take order.
2. they finally took it, but they again started to move so sloooooow that we actually got very angry and hungry.
3. the food finally arrived... cold! And the waitress had "a courage" to say that it were chiefs who were "a little slow"! Please do not forget that the food was cold, means it was sitting on a counter waiting for waitress. She literally lied then. Why? We'll never know. Oh, by the way, the name of the waitress was Kim C.
4. anyway, the food was just average. Nothing great about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank game_changer_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing our Chart Room at Land's End Resort. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner, our Executive Chef Billy expects excellence on every dish. Obviously, we missed our mark badly at breakfast and for that we all apologize. Our breakfast menu has had very strong, positive internal comments from our guests, but it certainly can not be great if it is not hot and it has sat in the window. Please see my response and offer to your positive comments in the hotel review. We appreciate hearing about both the positive and the negative and we will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Lunch menu I thought we would try the 3 choice fish sampler for the adults lunch. What a joke. A half doezen Fish nuggets, old lettuce with black olives and croutons as the side. Ordered cheeseburgers for our 4 & 5 yr old old. I have shoes were the sole was more pliable and contained more moisture. Kids wouldn't even eat them. What kid turns down a cheeseburger when their hungry. They refunded the price of the cheeseburgers but not the entire kids meal "because the kids ate some of the fries". The excuse was the chef was new. What chef can't cook a prefab frozen hamburger?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RVandivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your response, we feel terrible that your experience was sub-standard. Our Executive Chef though is making immediate improvements to the kid's burgers on the Children's menu which he had not until now spent much time on as we have not received complaints in the past. He has just ordered a replacement product for that kid's menu and we are holding a taste test this week. He also is making some improvement to the salad mix. Regarding the Fish Sampler special, the plate included 2 shrimp, 2 pieces of halibut, and 2 pieces of Yellow-eye Rockfish. If they present that particular special again, he will likely make the items easier for diners to differentiate them in presentation. I do apologize for the inappropriate comment from out staff that our cook was new. I have our Accounting Department double-checking the refund as you should have received a full one for the kids burger. They are only priced at $5.00 though so that may have created confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ok not what u come to Alaska for but went out on a limb and was by far best ribeye I hane had since leaving Nebraska. Service was great. View is great. What not to love.

Thank travlnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Chart Room at Land's End Resort. Our Executive Chef has elevated our menu and cuisine through his passion for food and his expectations of excellence for his team. Our staff strives to meet our slogan, "Where smiles and the ocean greet you at the door" to match our service with our unmatched surroundings on the shores of Kachemak Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chart Room Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chart Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing