We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”

The Chart Room Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 78 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Long a favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Chart Room Restaurant occupies one of the most spectacular waterfront locations in Alaska. We feature local seafood and individually prepared meals in a full-service, fine dining yet family oriented atmosphere. Enjoy the unmatched beauty of Kachemak Bay from the dining room windows; take in the awe-inspiring array of marine life and waterfowl from our outdoor deck, watch the local fleet as they round the spit and head out to sea. “Where Smiles and the Ocean Greet You at the Door!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The views are still fantastic (haha!), but the service was sooooooo slow. We had a reservation, the restaurant was almost empty, but we were asked to wait in the foyer for 15 minutes. The waitress, when she arrived, was very kind. We had just arrived in Homer, and after a long day, were quite hungry. The food was mediocre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SLS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for visiting our Chart Room restaurant again. I am sad to hear that your experience at your most recent visit was subpar compared to your prior visit and review. I would like to invite you back, our new Executive Chef has assembled a team that strives for excellence with every dish that comes out of our kitchen. I am confident that your return visit will remind you of your prior visit to the Chart Room. We are receiving consistent five star reviews over the last five months from our in-house survey to guests of the Chart Room except an occasional comment regarding slow service in the shoulder seasons. We have addressed this issue and are continuing to monitor to ensure that our guests experience is outstanding. Thank you for both of your reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 346 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The view is simply incredible. Aside from this, nothing about stands out about this mediocre "fancy" seafood restaurant. The service was alright, if you like a waiter who thinks they have jokes. The food was edible, but not much better. The ambiance? Cheesy maritime motif. You know, nets and fake lobsters as well as compasses and steering wheels. Not impressive. How is it that a seafood restaurant in AK has such subpar seafood?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

I believe that you are referring to the Kenai Landing restaurant, Sockeyes, that restaurant does in fact have nets, and fake lobsters and admittedly a cheesy motif. That restaurant is no longer operational and suffered from extremely acute seasonality, mid-June through mid-August

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

At the end of the Spit, the Lands End Bar had a good selection of beer and wine at reasonable prices. The calamari was good with a nice sauce. It was a bit chilly, but there was a nice outside deck if you wanted to sit out there. It is right on the beach at the end of the Spit. The view was fabulous . A very relaxing cocktail hour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lgatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A relatively elegant room with some of the best views in Alaska, and very good to excellent food, depending on the dish. Sides are good, but not special. Chowder is good. The crab, artichoke and parmigiana encrusted halibut we had was quite fresh (of course) and delicious, though not as good as the world-class halibut at Sack's in Anchorage.

Thank Mebcaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for visiting our Chart Room restaurant at Land's End Resort. Our new Executive Chef, Chef Billy, has assembled an outstanding team since your last visit and instilled them with the expectation of excellence in our menu, and in every item that leaves out kitchen. I hope that you can return soon, I would very much enjoy hearing about your visit. I believe that you will describe the halibut offerings as world class. Thank you for you for taking the time to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The restaurant had a great selection of seafood, so it was difficult to choose!
There was a big group of us and all meals were enjoyed by all.
The service was great, the view was great - little sea otters swimming in the bay outside.
The food was fabulous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissT603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for visiting our Chart Room restaurant. We truly are very fortunate for our location at the end of the Homer Spit surrounded by beautiful Kachemak Bay. We have had otters and eagles coming out in droves over the last few weeks. I hope that you can return soon, Chef Billy has made it his team's daily expectation to live up to our world class location. Thank you again for visiting and for taking the time to post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chart Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing