We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miss and hits” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chart Room Restaurant

The Chart Room Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Long a favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Chart Room Restaurant occupies one of the most spectacular waterfront locations in Alaska. We feature local seafood and individually prepared meals in a full-service, fine dining yet family oriented atmosphere. Enjoy the unmatched beauty of Kachemak Bay from the dining room windows; take in the awe-inspiring array of marine life and waterfowl from our outdoor deck, watch the local fleet as they round the spit and head out to sea. “Where Smiles and the Ocean Greet You at the Door!”
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Miss and hits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've eaten here a few times. Breakfasts are nice, and my preferred meal here. Dinners are more on the miss side, unfortunately. Burgers and steaks should be checked for your ordered level of cook temp before you sink your teeth in...

The seating is the real hit here. Beautiful view, and a nice setting for a meal.

Now, if only the food was the hit here...there are many places who aren't in this hotel's restaurant space that are knocking it out of the park. Consider eating there for a more memorable meal experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    89
    53
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ate at the Chart Room because we were staying at the hotel. The fish and chips were good but the halibut parmesan was overcooked and the staff acted like they were doing us a huge favor to seat us in a quieter area. They seem to be used to people being grateful to have any seat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank azhottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“average food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I do recommend for the view and friendly staff. Food is good but average. Take a walk around the hotel and gift shop they are interesting and cozy. Definitely go for a walk on the pebbled beach before or after your meal. really beautiful stones and driftwood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food hit or miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lands end is located at the end of the spit in beautiful homer alaska
The views are amazing but the food is a major hit or miss, the new decking seating is wonderful and very nice. The appetizers are very good especially the artichoke crab dip is great but many times the bread tastes like a couple days old then sometimes its very fresh
I ordered a patty melt and it was a flat burger on two pieces of toast that was so dry and a piece of chese that seemed days old, the waitress didnt charge me since i couldnt eat it
So if you want amazing views and pretty decent appetizers and drinks this is the place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMackulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chowdah"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located on the very tip of the "Spit", great clam chowder and burgers in the bar. Has a fancy dining room if that's your thing, but the bar menu is cheaper and you can sit on the back deck and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chart Room Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chart Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing