We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good introduction”

Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center is a partnership between the US Fish and Wildlife Service's Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge and the Kachemak Bay Research Reserve. Built in 2003 as a resource for the community and visitors to Homer, Alaska, the building houses interpretive and interactive exhibits and displays describing the important work and research of the Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge and the Kachemak Bay Research Reserve.Located at 95 Sterling Highway, there are opportunities to enjoy the exhibit hall, informative videos, regular educational programming, and Ranger/Naturalist-led walks and presentations.The Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center is your window to the largest seabird refuge in the world, with all of the natural wonders of Kachemak Bay right outside its doors!
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good introduction”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Good place to get an introduction to the wildlife in Homer. We saw a very information movie about the Kachemack Bay. And it is all for FREE! Excellent for a rainy day in Homer.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank GoodandAffordable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    120
    28
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Was so glad we went here and couldnt believe it was free! They had wonderful displays and it was very informative while being very interactive which was nice. they also had walking trail outside which were just as nice. I would really reccomend stoping here if your in Homer. I really enjoyed my visit here and still cant believe it was free as it was better then some places we visited that had a fee.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotia_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable visit”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Homer is a town for fish, birds and nature!

We really enjoyed our visit to this centre on a dry afternoon in May. Our only regret is that we did not allow enough time to do everything we could have done outdoors on such a lovely day because we could have explored more of the trails had we had more time.

There are a variety of indoor and outdoor attractions which would appeal to most ages. The building itself is still fairly new (2004) beautifully and thoughtfully designed both inside and out and the setting gives some lovely views onto the bay whether the tide is in or out. Outside are bird shaped bicycle stands, colourful banners with a nature theme on the lighting stands, and inset into the outer walls are panels showing sealife and birdlife. There are some walking trails you can do by yourself, each was well described and although we did not have time to do more than one trail, the boardwalk was well constructed and fully accessible. Everything we saw inside and out was beautifully designed and maintained. Both paid staff and volunteers, along with visitors, keep in constant contact with sightings and can advise visitors what can be seen at any one time and where. They even set up telescopes on the boardwalk for easier viewing and are happy to explain to the more inexperienced what you are looking at! You can also borrow binoculars for your visit. Inside there are several exhibits and a movie theatre. The exhibits were really well designed, held our attention and would appeal to all ages. Some are interactive. The quality of the photography was fabulous and artists have designed some of the exhibits and decor. The amount of information available and the quality of the information was very high standard and the staff really added to our overall enjoyment as they were friendly, knowledgeable and very happy to be working or volunteering there.

I regret that this rather "bland" review does not really give the best impression of what this Center offers and suggest that you look at the website for a broader view of what is available. Having said that, even the website does not give the full picture because the outside trails and the setting are not particularly well described and are a particular highlight of any visit. Go there if you can, but unlike us, plan to spend longer especially if the weather is good and you want to explore the trails and enjoy nature at its best. Admission is free.

http://www.islandsandocean.org/

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small, no animals to look at.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

It was a small exhibit, some hands on for the little ones all under 6 years. No animals to look at, basically a research exhibit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank summervilla157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing