We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast In Homer!”

Fresh Sourdough Express
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are Now CLOSED until Springtime. Looking forward to serving you then. At the Fresh Sourdough Express, we offer food that is both good for you and the planet. ~ Since 1982 we have Served Healthy Hearty Alaskan Cuisine focused on using Local and Organic ingredients. We feature the best Alaskan seafood, pork, and beef plus plenty of Homer-grown vegetables. Offer delicious vegetarian & vegan options using as much seasonal Home-grown produce as possible. There is no skimping on the value you receive when you are served a delicious, robust meal, teeming with regional flavor and quality, from one of our smiling servers. We serve breakfast all day, hearty lunches, daily seasonal specials, to-go meals, and box lunches. Daily baked goodies including gluten-free options and a variety of baked goods made with organic ingredients. Drinks include a raw juice bar, smoothies, espresso drinks, milkshakes, Kombucha and natural sodas All in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Summer Hours 7 am until 3
Reviewed July 6, 2015

On our latest trip to Homer, we decided to give Fresh Sourdough Express a try and boy are we glad we did! That was our first day and we were so impressed that we went back everyday for a week! Each day, we tried something different. All of the food was exceptional. We really liked the fact that everything is fresh and organic and the special varies by day. The wait staff was always friendly and willing to accomodate subsitutions and for an added treat, each day we received a little sample of something from their bakery which is part of the restaurant. They also have an amazing organic coffee bar and a smoothie/juice bar. I tried a carrot, kale, and celery juice on a whim. The juice was amazing! Fresh Sourdough Express is a must visit place for a quick breakfast and coffee to-go or,a sit down, relax, and stay awhile atmosphere. Best breakast in Homer!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Your so awesome! Thanks for the delicious review..and appreciating all we do.
Glad to see you do not live to far away. We sure hope to see lots of you.

From all of us at the Fresh Sourdough Express, thank YOU... again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2015

The food here was great. Home made, very fresh. Portions good sizes. You will be walking out of here not hungry. Well worth your time stopping by.

Thank Lynnda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Deares Lynnda,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Sourdough.We are all so grateful when we hear from our happy customers. Anchorage is not to far away... and we hope to see lots of you.

Gratitude from all of us at the Fresh Sourdough Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile

I only tried the sandwiches but that's because that's all I needed. They were great. I recommend the reindeer sausage sandwich. Fast friendly service.

Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Dearest Michael,
Delicious and Yummy reviewer :-) You rock... that is my son's all time favorite sandwich too...
Look forward to serving you again some time...

Cheers and gratitude from all of us at the Sourdough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

We visit Homer a few times a year but had never tried this place as we always seemed to see it when we were on our way somewhere! From now on this will be a MUST in Homer for us after only tasting the pastries. We stopped in for pastries to go and coffees and WOW! Super cheerful atmosphere, friendly staff and that case of pastries was impressive! We purchased strawberry-blueberry Danishes, cinnamon rolls, vanilla cheesecake muffins and a raspberry-poppyseed muffin. Everything was amazing, fresh, and full of flavor. They source local, organic foods as much as they can and you can tell. I noticed savory pastries too but we went for the sweets this time. While I was waiting I perused their menu for breakfast and it looked amazing, while we were there every table was full in the restaurant. We will definitely be coming here on our next Homer trip for a meal. So happy we finally made it in. One of our new favorite spots, and they open at 7 am every day!

Thank 907ChristineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Dearest Delicious and Friendly :-)

We are so grateful to get such heartfelt descriptive reviews. Awesome that you found us. Can you believe we have been doing this for 33 years...Look forward to serving you lots... so glad you make it to Homer a few times a year... It is such an amazing place to spend time... and you get to eat great food.
Gratitude from all of us at the Sourdough... see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

A great place for breakfast, the menu has something for everyone. I thought my breakfast of eggs, potatoes and bacon was done with (with jicama as a garnish, yum), not your normal boring plate. The morsels of fresh bakery goods just out of the oven served while we waited was a really nice touch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Thanks so much ... Love it... Interesting tasty food...

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal... great to see you are from Soldotna and a Nature lover...

I founded the Bakery Cafe in 1982 as I loved Nature so much.
In collage I studied ecology and organic farming, this was in the late 70's.. and learned that
ago business was the number one destroyer of nature.. When I started the Fresh Sourdough, a place serving agricultural products..it was my desire to share a different way of eating... interesting and intelligent tasty food for people and the planet...
Thanks Again
From all of us at the Sourdough. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fresh Sourdough Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing