We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast, clean and tasty”

Fresh Sourdough Express
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are Now CLOSED until Springtime. Looking forward to serving you then. At the Fresh Sourdough Express, we offer food that is both good for you and the planet. ~ Since 1982 we have Served Healthy Hearty Alaskan Cuisine focused on using Local and Organic ingredients. We feature the best Alaskan seafood, pork, and beef plus plenty of Homer-grown vegetables. Offer delicious vegetarian & vegan options using as much seasonal Home-grown produce as possible. There is no skimping on the value you receive when you are served a delicious, robust meal, teeming with regional flavor and quality, from one of our smiling servers. We serve breakfast all day, hearty lunches, daily seasonal specials, to-go meals, and box lunches. Daily baked goodies including gluten-free options and a variety of baked goods made with organic ingredients. Drinks include a raw juice bar, smoothies, espresso drinks, milkshakes, Kombucha and natural sodas All in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Summer Hours 7 am until 3
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Good selection of food. Loved the salmon and ,
My friends had the hamburger sandwich - all very good The price was also not too bad and judging by th crowds u see that the place is a popular spot in Homer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iris212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Whooo all the way from Israel! Thanks for coming in and taking the time to write a review. We definitely take pride in serving local and organic food that is good for people and the planet... Glad you got to experience it first hand. We make everything from scratch only using the finest ingredients you can get in a small town in Alaska :-)
Hope the rest of your trip to this grand state was magnificent.
Cheers Kevin Donna and the wonderful staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We needed a box lunch for our day journey to the Peterson Bay Field Station and it was light and flavorful. The cookbook that they sell was perfect for a kid gift. Unique recipes. Breakfast and Lunch only. Thanks for packing our "to go" so well. Friendly team. Located in the Homer Business District, about 7 minutes in no traffic from the end of Homer Spit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Glad we could be of service... *** and love that you got one of my books and are enjoying it. You can see from reading the cookbook, that we really put more then just our heart and soul into the business, we are passionate about educating folks to the value of eating a diet that supports all life on the planet. Peterson Bay trip is one of our favorite places ... hope you enjoyed...
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to serving you again sometime. Hope you get a chance to dine in the cafe...
All the best,
Kevin Donna and the friendly staff....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate breakfast at Sourdough Express Bakery while on our honeymoon in Homer. We were promptly seated and offered drinks and a sample of carrot cake. We ordered and our food came out very quickly. The food was outstanding! I had the cinnamon roll French toast; I have never eaten anything like it. My husband got the biscuits and gravy with eggs and reindeer sausage. We both had organic juice that was amazing. We left full and satisfied, with a snack for later. Love the organic choices that are cheaper than expected, and compost able cups/Togo boxes. Having lived in Homer previously I know that this is a place loved by locals and tourists alike! Service is great, and the food is wonderful. Fresh Sourdough Express runs like a well oiled machine and I encourage anyone and everyone to have breakfast, lunch, dinner, or even one of their many pastries, muffins, crisps, etc!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kaylaeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Shabammmm what an awesome review! Your words mean so much to us. Thanks for appreciate what we do and what the business model is about. Serving food that is good for people and the planet has it challenges and we are beyond grateful when folks like you take the time to acknowledge our well oiled machine :-)
We hope to be open this fall and into the winter if the business is hear so please spread the word.
Enjoy the rest of the summer...
Cheers Kevin Donna and the friendly staff...*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I love this place all the best of American bakery, good coffe too and most of all very nice and friendly staff! I would recommend this place for a very good breakfast!

1  Thank PiccardaTattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for the great review... all the way from Italy! I have been to your country and just loved it... so grateful that you found us! Grateful to you for spreading the love... Hope you got to try us for Lunch also... using only local and organic ingredients... making every thing in house... we even smoke our own Alaskan raised meats and grind our grains for our whole wheat baked goods!
We hope to make it to your country soon.
Cheers Kevin & Donna and our wonderful staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We came in for breakfast. The place is popular. We had no complaints about the food - well prepared Alaskan dishes. However, the best attribute of this facility is it's ethos of sustainability, use of organic produce, vegetarian options etc it is something that we can strongly relate to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Hello Scotland! Thanks for the great review. We so appreciate that you appreciate what we are doing at the Fresh Sourdough Express for the past 32 years. Its customers like you that keep us going and devoted to helping transform the food service industry for the better.
Hope your visit to Alaska was Awesome!
Cheers Kevin, Donna and the dedicated staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Sourdough Express also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Sourdough Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing