We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect start on a wet Sunday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Sourdough Express

Fresh Sourdough Express
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Fresh Sourdough Express, we offer food that is both good for you and the planet. ~ Since 1982 we have Served Healthy Hearty Alaskan Cuisine focused on using Local and Organic ingredients. We feature the best Alaskan seafood, pork, and beef plus plenty of Homer-grown vegetables. Offer delicious vegetarian & vegan options using as much seasonal Home-grown produce as possible. There is no skimping on the value you receive when you are served a delicious, robust meal, teeming with regional flavor and quality, from one of our smiling servers. We serve breakfast all day, hearty lunches, seasonal daily specials, to-go meals, and box lunches. Daily baked goodies including gluten-free options and a variety of baked goods made with organic ingredients. Drinks include a raw juice bar, smoothies, espresso drinks, milkshakes, Kombucha and natural sodas All in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Please check out our menu. We offer catering services planned with attention to detail for any event. Our Intentions, desires, and beliefs: Customer service makes all the difference in your experience while you dine. It is our intention to serve you in a manner that is welcoming and enjoyable. Buying local helps to build the local economy and assures freshness in all that we prepare. The food we consume directly affects our health and the health of the plant. We strive to be a zero-waste facility by composting all of our food scraps, recycling everything possible, and implement energy efficient appliances and practices into our establishment. Check out our website and find out how we started the Cafe with just $43 and the passion "to make the world a better place one bite at a time." We sincerely look forward to serving you and value your feedback. Open from May until October Summer Hours Open DAILY 8 am - 5 pm daily Off-season Hours 8-3 Closed on Thursday
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect start on a wet Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

When we arrived about 9.30 Sunday morning we were seated immediately and thought things were pretty quiet. Within fifteen minutes the place was packed, and when our food arrived we could see why it's so popular.
Delicious pancakes for the whole family, and our first experience of biscuit and gravy. Yum!
Our first 'real' American breakfast and we loved it.

Note to self: just because the car park is pretty empty when you arrive doesn't mean you can park the 32' RV in there and expect to get out easily!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMaltz, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for stopping by! We are so grateful for your support.
Best,
Donna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    63
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“UPDATE. Nobody is there....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I sent a bunch of my clients over to the Sourdough and the place was closed... I called an the phone number is out of service... Too bad it was one of the better places in town...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMaltz, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Sorry we missed you. Donna and Kevin, the former owners, are in the process of reopening the restaurant and will be open May 2! We hope to see you then,
Donna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were delayed out of Homer, due to weather, during a bear watching trip. We went to Sourdough Express on recommendation of the flight service folks at Beluga Air after a night of camping. On a Saturday morning around 8:30a/9:00a we were seated immediately and given menus and drinks. I had a soy chai tea and my husband had coffee. We had a delicious breakfast - we had eggs, pancakes, bacon, breakfast potatoes. The place was log cabin/diner-esque (which we don't have issue with) and we appreciated that the place used local ingredients and had soy options. The servers were pleasant and quick with our meals/drinks! We thought it was a great way to start our layover in Homer! YUM! Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMaltz, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you! We are excited to serve you again. Our doors open May 2!
Donna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service was so slow, we left without ordering.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went for breakfast at 10am on a Sunday. When we entered, I could see about 80% of tables were filled, but there were clearly a LOT of employees working (both front and back of house). Unfriendly right off the bat. First she ignored us, and then her initial greeting was: frown..."how many? well you're gonna have to wait!" After being seated, we waited 15+ more minutes to order, with wait staff walking by us constantly. No one would make eye contact, although it was extremely clear we were ready to order. Finally we just left without ordering. Very LAME. Also, place seemed dingy. For example, plastic menus were dirty and sticky.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dclm_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMaltz, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you had such an unfortunate experience at the Fresh Sourdough Express. During the time you visited, the restaurant was under new ownership, and because of instances such as these, the former owners are returning to run the restaurant. We will open May 2, and would love to offer you a complimentary dessert to show our apologies and our sincere commitment to quality customer service and dining.
Donna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Tour Group Enjoys Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were on a land tour through NCL Cruise lines and this restaurant stop was a first for this tour group. They had made arrangements for our 60 some tourists and the manager made sure there were extra staff on hand to handle our group. We filled most of the tables in the restaurant and doubled up where possible which let us get to know other families in our tour group. Since everyone arrived at the same time the orders were taken promptly but food preparation was a little slow since there was limited cooking space (how many small restaurants have cooking facilities for 60 people at one time?). The wait staff kept coming around with coffee and water and updated us on our orders. The serving sizes were very large and we could have ordered one meal for both of us. We both had the Sour Dough French Toast with bacon coffee and juice. The bill with tax was $27.00 which for the area was very reasonable. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the good food. We would definitely recommend this place if you are in the area. They also have a small bakery attached to the restaurant if you just want a pastry and coffee which some of our group opted to do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMaltz, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are so pleased to see that you and your tour group had a pleasant time at the Fresh Sourdough Express and appreciate your feedback!
Many thanks,
Donna and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fresh Sourdough Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing