We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here, just as nice as first”
Review of Alaskan Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alaskan Suites
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second time here, just as nice as first”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We ended up in Homer during the "worst weather of the summer". Even though we didn't get to go fishing, we did get to eventually go bear viewing when the weather cleared up. Despite our failed activities....the cabin was fantastic. Clean, great view (when there weren't clouds and 60 knot winds...but that isn't their fault!), very convenient to get to Homer spit.

They now offer breakfast (included in cabin price) - and it was good - waffles, cereal, etc. The cabins ARE very nice, have everything you need, and Winter was around every day to make sure we had what we needed. We would stay here again, for sure. They are a little pricey, but it was worth it to us to have the privacy and the clean, well appointed cabin on top of the hill with the AMAZING view!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
88
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

These cabins have the best location you can hope for. They're right at the edge of a cliff overlooking the bay. Simply amazing.

The cabins are well equipped, with two beds, a Plasma TV and a small kitchenette and a gas grill on the balcony. We really had fun grilling our dinner every evening after a busy hiking day. ...And then you jump into the large hot-tub overlooking the ocean. Now that's life!

The owners are nice and it's clear they really care about making sure you enjoy your stay. They also serve a nice basic complementary breakfast. Made the mornings easier.


The price is just a bit too high, but hey - if you want to spend your Homer vacation in style, I guess you have to pay for it. :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Found this place on TripAdvisor and it did not disappoint. I live in Anchorage but had never been to Homer and needed a place for my parents, my husband and I to stay while we were there for a fishing trip. The view was incredible with a great open area over the water right outside the cabin. We arrived the afternoon of the first night and spend several hours watching eagles, otters, humpback and (we think) orca whales. Bring some binoculars! This place is conveniently right off the highway right before you enter Homer but you don't hear the noise from the road at all.

If you're in town for a fishing excursion (a must-do in Homer), give yourself about 15-20 minutes to drive through town to get to the harbor, park, and find the correct slip for your charter.

Ammenities:
Gas grill with grilling tools, small table and 2 chairs outside, 1 lawn chair
Full bathroom with hair dryer
Kitchen has mini-fridge, coffee maker and set of plates, glasses, wine goblets, silverware, platter, serving bowl, salt/pepper. Also had a bowl full of popcorn, hot chocolate, coffee makings.
Big screen TV with sattelite, surround sound, wireless and DSL internet with cord
Hot Tub - 15 person hot tub was perfect in the evenings, definitely a huge plus...bring a swimsuit!
Fire pit - we made s'mores the second night. You need to provide your own firewood to build the fire (liability reasons)
Continental Breakfast - Didn't get to try but cereal/milk was available, yogurt, bagels, waffle batter to make your own waffles. This was in a small trailer right next to the cabins. Didn't open until 7 so our suggestion was to open this a little earlier since a lot of the fishing excursions leave the harbor at 7 am.

We were impressed with the TV/internet availability at these cabins, you get to experience Alaska view and wildlife while still feeling very comfortable in the cabin. Larry was great as well as the girl working the front desk (Winter I think was her name?). She saw we didn't have any binoculars but were watching the wildlife out in the water so she brought a pair to use during our stay. Nice touch and a must-have.

The owner is working to expand this place (sometime late 2012 perhaps?). I believe it will contain a lodge with several more rooms, perhaps a restaurant and a spa to replace the hot tub (although I loved the hot tub as it is).

I will return with other friends/visitors to give them a nice taste of Alaska!

Room Tip: 5 cabins available (although in the process of building an additional lodge). All were identical, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylaandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Alaskan Suites was the best accomodations of our 12 day trip. We stayed at several hotels and several cabins spanning Denali to Homer. The Alaskan Suites Cabin was by far the best cabin we stayed at. Words can not describe the view. Stunning falls short.
The cabin was spacious and bright with every detail thought out including the DSL internet access; excellent blackout curtains so you can sleep when it is light out and these were expertly installed so that the doors could function perfectly with them open or shut, a covered deck looking at the view ( It rains and snows in alaska. This was the only covered deck we had amongst the 4 cabins we stayed at and we had lots of rain over the 12 days), spacious airy bathroom with good lighting and counter space, surround sound, spotless grill on the deck, spotless grill tools, swimming pool size jacuzi etc. What I am trying to convey is that in addition to the spectacular location the owner has insured that every detail of your cabin is in flawless condition. Highly recommend.
Will and Kathleen San Diego, Ca.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I was lucky enough to get one of the rooms during our recent stay and the whole family loved it! From the view to the hot tub to the campfire, it was awesome! My entire family loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinWith4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I found Alaskan Suites on TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed. I live in Alaska but never get down to Homer and came to Homer with a girlfriend. The cabin was beautiful inside, we loved our view and went in the hot tub. I can't think of anything that was wrong.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moose Cabin which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast selection. Very clean. We would definitely choose Alaskan Suites again!

Room Tip: The cabins are identical so all of the rooms are the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureJunkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.3 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenai Peninsula Suites
0.4 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#3 of 28 in Homer
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Suites

Property: Alaskan Suites
Address: 3255 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-9298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaskan Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Beautiful cabins and 1 house located on the bluff overlooking Kachemak Bay and volcanoes. Cabins have kitchenette, deck w/grill, big screen TV, 3 beds, access to a hot tub and a million dollar view. House has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen w/dining room, and living room. It has same million dollar view with private hot tub and is on a private lot. These are all 5 star units and we serve a free continental breakfast in the summer. You have to see to believe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alaskan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaskan Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing