We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, very affordable, clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanview RV Park, Homer Alaska
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay in Homer for a few nights on our rv trip. We stopped at the information center and the staff said this place had spaces left. What a pleasant surprise! It's right on the main road into town and easy to find. The view of Kachemak Bay can be seen from most anywhere in the park. They have a community fire pit and a bbq area with grills that all are allowed to use, heated restroom/showers. The spaces are average size but easy to maneuver into.

The only negatives are that the wifi is slow and there are no trees between the spaces.

In short, a great place that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a site close to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flybob6334580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

The sites are set up similar to the new stadium seating in movie theaters, but for campers. This give each level some kind of view of Kachemak Bay, the snow cap mountains and the Glaciers across the bay. You also have a view of Homer Spit from the campground and you have Eagles that visit the campground. You also have access to the beach from the campground and will see Eagles searching the shoreline for a meal. This is our third time here and we would not stay any where else. It is conveniently located close to grocery, fuel, bakery and Homer Spit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Retired80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We visited Oceanview RV park in July, and it was by far the best RV park we have visited so far- and we've visited quite a few. The view is amazing, and we were lucky enough to get spot 26, the closest to the beach and the ocean. There's a little path that leads down to the beach from the RV park- and the beach is GORGEOUS. When it comes to facilities, the bathrooms are in great condition when it comes to RV park standards. Showers are free here which was a lovely change from the $4.50 we had to pay at all the other RV parks. So if you're in the area, then you should definitely stop by this RV park

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msingh043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

problems for big rigs as roads are narrow. Staff is angry and not customer oriented. advertised cable and Wi-Fi have issues. Plus is the location and one of the few full service parks not on the spit. Nice view of the ocean from the access roads.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Super experience. Loved bathrooms, clean, hot water, lots of sinks and outlets. Spectacular view if the glazier, mountains, and volcanos. Added bonus great gift shop. Short ride to the spit. Walking distance to old town and awesome restrauants. Don't miss 2 sisters.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two nights here while touring the Kenai peninsula and were very happy with this RV park. The location is on the Sterling Highway as you come into Homer, and is approx 10 minutes drive from the spit and very close to a large supermarket. Full hook-ups are available as well as some electric only and a few dry camp spaces for tents down overlooking the beach. The RV park is a linear layout running from the road to the beach, with mainly back-in sites and as few pull throughs. Despite limited experience of RV'ing, we had absolutely no issues backing in and hooking up to the services. The only small criticism is that you may not get much a view of the ocean/mountains from inside your RV if the view is obscured by your neighbour, or your windows are on the side facing away from the beach.

Outside the RV however the view is truly beautiful, especially in the fine summer weather we were lucky enough to enjoy during our stay. No problems with flies or mosquitos either, unlike many other locations in Alaska, so we were able to barbecue outside in peace. The office has a gift shop (small discount available to residents) and the building also houses the separate male/female showers (which we did not utilise). The owner had plently of local maps, leaflets and suggestions for what to see and do.

Would certainly stay here again should we be lucky enough to re-visit this wonderful area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Etienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
906 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 30 in Homer
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homer Sportsman's Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview RV Park, Homer Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview RV Park, Homer Alaska

Address: 455 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-7440
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing