We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeatedly superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Baleine Cafe

La Baleine Cafe
Ranked #7 of 73 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
353 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Repeatedly superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The fish stew was outstanding-- had some obvious saffron seasoning and very fresh fish. Also had the Salmon noodle bowl and the crab melt for lunch. they have pre made foods for taking on fishing boats which were excellent as well. Great service and wonderful food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    36
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Crab Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Decided to try this place after a recommendation by a local. She told us the crab melt was "a life changing experience" so we both ordered one. One came with curry fries and the other came with s salad. We have to agree that the crab melt was pretty amazing and the curry fries were excellent. The salad had a delicious house dressing & coffee were included with the meal. The rest of the menu looked really good as well so we'll probably make another visit before leaving Homer. We found out the chefs were picked by the governor of AK to represent the state at a seafood Cook off the first week of August & we wish them all the best!!! If you're in Homer this is a restaurant not to miss.

Helpful?
Thank Bill V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and i went for lunch and he ordered crab sandwich and i had the black bean burger, all was homemade and very fresh, the blackbean burger wasnt a premade patty and so good, we are locals and try to get to the resterants on the Homer Spit during the summer, we did have the side salad and both asked for no onions and it was loaded with them so we had to dig them all out, so if you order and want to omit something please make sure they do this

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMackulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you're on the Spit and hungry for breakfast or lunch, walk, run or drive to La Baleine Cafe. It's next door to the Salty Dog! They have an unbelievable unique menu.... Reindeer Chili, incredible omelets, a two egg breakfast sandwich just to name a few! Prices are extremely generous.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cparsons0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

On our last day in homer we stopped for breakfast. We had the mushers breakfast, one daily omelette special, and a traditional breakfast. Food was fresh, delicious, had great presentation, and a good value. Would highly encourage a stop if you are on the spit in homer....not open on Mondays

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrspRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baleine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Baleine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing