We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early dinner out on cloudy day on spit”
Review of La Baleine Cafe

La Baleine Cafe
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Early dinner out on cloudy day on spit”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Chili and Ramon bowl are what we ordered. Ramen bowl came with a nice size pice of salmon and could be shared. It was a generous size. Cup of chili perfect size. Yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DdddddDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    41
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a layover in Homer and ate a late lunch here. We each had the Dungeoness Crab Melt on fresh french bread - and the options for sides were either soup, salad, or curry fries. I chose the curry fries, my husband had the Reindeer Sausage Chili. Also included in the $13 price tag were water, tea, and coffee. The hostess was open to amending the cheese on the melt, because I am lactose intolerant. The food was fresh, delicious and great value for the price! We will definitely be back - they were environmentally friendly, have a variety of options, a bathroom, and indoor and outdoor seating. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone going to Homer! YUM!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The ultimate breakfast sandwich!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were, unfortunately, leaving Homer when we stopped here (based on a review I'd read) to grab a breakfast sandwich for the drive. The previous positive reviews did not go far enough.
They use fresh organic, local ingredients and the results are fabulous. We wish we had more days left in Homer so we could eat there for lunch as well.
My husband deemed this the best ever --- toasted ciabatta, fried egg, bacon (can also order without), tomato, cheese, lettuce. Yummmm. Luckily we stopped to eat this as it does get wonderfully messy unless you order the egg more than over easy. It also had fruit on the side; fresh berries and some orange slices. They served free coffee while we waited---Silver Hook, roasted in Kodiak. Also excellent.
The owners also run a cooking school and 2 wilderness lodges, so la Baleine is only open thru early Sept. Don't miss this little gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really great food, nice people”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A friend of ours that was with us had heard from some friends that this place was good, so we stopped in for lunch. Really glad we did! I had a Salmon Rice Bowl type of thing that was very tasty and quite filling and the two other people I was with really enjoyed their meals as well, including a fritata that my wife had that I got a couple bites of. They only serve breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treznor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Welcoming Spot”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I were happy that we came upon this small and friendly place while visiting in Homer in June. We tried the breakfast burrito and the breakfast skillet, and both were excellent, as was the coffee. Seating is limited (we had to wait a bit for something to open up), but on a fine morning you can sit outside as well. Had we been staying longer in the area, we would have definitely returned to try the lunch offerings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mouseflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baleine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Baleine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing