We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast diner”
Review of Duncan House Diner

Duncan House Diner
Ranked #11 of 76 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
rural ak
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good breakfast diner”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a good breakfast diner-type restaurant. I like the tunes they play and the staff is really nice! Definitely somewhere I return to for standard breakfast food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    75
    33
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Save room for a hotcake...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Who am I kidding, don't save room - just enjoy one or maybe share this monster, supper fluffly, very tasty treat with the rest of your party. Everyone in our seven person party loved their meal which included both breakfast and lunch foods; portions were abundant and of high quality. Did I mention the hotcake? Another favorite was the big link sausage. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

At the end of the season on the Homer Spit, most restaurants are closed so we searched for a place in town and found this one as recommended by other contributors. It was a great choice as the food was excellent. We had scrambled eggs, front toast, bacon and Reindeer sausage. Everything was delicious, hot and delivered quickly. The place was packed and according to our server it was crazy busy mabe because other restaurants had closed for the season. Prices were reasonable as it was off the tourist track. Decor was "kitschey". S forget about the decor and concentrate on the food. They only service breakfast and lunch. A simple menu but they did have fresh Halibut fish and chips for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ultrapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found this hole in the wall driving through town. Service was the best! Food was good. Easy to get to and plenty parking for an oversized truck. I had the schooner breakfast lots of berries. Very tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kb1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Home Cooking”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Homer, AK for 3 weeks and ate either breakfast or lunch here every day. We thought the food was outstanding, reasonably priced, and the staff very friendly. We very much recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Williecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncan House Diner also viewed

 

Been to Duncan House Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing