We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfasts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duncan House Diner

Duncan House Diner
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stopped there for breakfast and found very good food for an excellent price considering it is AK. Fast, friendly service. We had the french toast which was good and the eggs, biscuit with reindeer sausage. Good coffee and nice friendly comfortable atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BellaBugQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    70
    31
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Homey Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A good breakfast with a reasonable price point. We ate here on Monday afternoon and the only thing I wasn't too excited about was the wait. We were part of a large party, but waited almost 70 minutes to be seated. I wouldn't have minded, but in the end we were seated at two booths that weren't even close to each other, so we could/should have been seated right away. Our group was pretty mellow and we enjoyed ourselves sitting on the benches outside the door while we waited. I suppose if we had raised a bit of a stink we would have had more prompt service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningMad1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Duncan House was an excellent breakfast experience! The atmosphere was homey, with old tins and other memorabilia on the walls, mismatched logo coffee mugs, and comfortable booths and chairs. There was a good selection of traditional diner food on the menu as well as healthier options. The coffee wasn't spectacular, but it was decent, and our cups were kept full throughout our meal. I ordered the homestyle oatmeal - easily the best oatmeal I've ever had at a restaurant! It came with a generous amount of fresh blueberries, dried cranberries, and walnuts mixed in, and with a pitcher of milk and a container of brown sugar served on the side. Since I don't like my oatmeal swimming in milk or over-sweetened, I thought that was a nice touch. The portion was large enough that it kept me full for a long morning of fishing, and I couldn't even eat the side of toast. My dad had eggs, sausage, and hash browns and loved it. Again, he couldn't even finish his portion, and everything was very well cooked. There were tons of locals in the place, and it filled up shortly after we arrived at opening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very good place for breakfast. Located in the old town section and begins serving at 7:00 am. The food was simple and uncomplicated. Try it - you will like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hatsbykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Food is delicious and very affordable. Lots of selection and breakfast available all day. It is nice to see an owner take interest on a day to day basis and meet all of his customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McKenzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duncan House Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing