We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIRKY DINER”
Review of Duncan House Diner

Duncan House Diner
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“QUIRKY DINER”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Took breakfast here on the recommendation of our host. Huge variety, healthy options and friendly service too. There's a really nice ambiance about this place - the paraphernalia displayed certainly makes it memorable and interesting. Efficient service, good value and clearly a hit with the locals!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mibsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    77
    33
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just what you need some days”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There isn't much I haven't liked about my visits to Duncan House. The breakfasts are good, and I've always been happy with what I have on my plate. The portions are good, and certainly worth the prices compared to other breakfast/lunch places around town.

Are there other places that make for "fine dining" experiences? You bet! Are there places that can offer this level of friendly service, good food, and an amazing music selection always playing all in one? Nope!

It's a fun little greasy spoon, with all of the usual things you look for from a place like this. Be sure to listen carefully for how they call a table's food from the kitchen. Cracks me up every time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We eat here every time we visit Homer”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Duncan House is the best breakfast place in Homer! We visit family there a couple of times each year, and we always look forward to having breakfast at Duncan House during our visit. The food is great and the atmosphere is perfect--small town American diner. I highly recommend the breakfast, but their lunch offerings are good too. Don't miss Duncan House!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Went there for years, until we looked under a table”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went there once a week for years. The food is always the same and it is a dependable place to get lunch and head back to work. We overlooked the occasional lip-stick on a mug and sticky table top... But when one of our clients dropped their hat under the table I wish I was not the one who went down there to pick it up... Yikes... Maybe it was only because it was mid summer and they were swamped... Maybe....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Pass
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummy”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything about this place is great. Awesome Food. Awesome service. Friendly wait staff. The atmosphere is casual with lots of stuff on the walls to read.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncan House Diner also viewed

 

Been to Duncan House Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing