We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
189
25
11
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
25
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbald eaglesyogurtkachemak bayhomer spitnautical themeprivate deckthe eagle's nestlow tidemain buildingnice roomstayed two nightswe loved our staybear's denview of the bayfire pithostsproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 227 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2009

One's satisfaction with the accomodations at this establishment depend entirely on which room you have (or, the cabin), and your ability to ignore the junk, such as rusting barbeques, fishing floats, nets, and kitsch that inhabits and surrounds the property, the occasional presence of relatives of cranky owners/operators of the Beach House, and the "add on" look and actual construction of the accomodations. The owners live in a tiny area in the front of the "buildings.". The walls are far from soundproof so the sounds of other guests and the owners are clearly audible. The rooms, viewed by this writer by invitation of other guests and from personal experience, vary from tiny to large. One has a "view" of the small dirt parking lot; another has the same view as well as, by standing up and craning your neck, of Kachemak Bay, on which the property is located above the beach, which you can walk down to on stairs; you can even stop part way and sit in a swimging law chair. These two rooms, in additin to being very small, are dark and full of nautical kitsch. There is a small refrigerator and a table and chairs but you have to wash your utensils in the bathroom sink. As with all the rooms, breakfast is provivded: muffins, juice, milk, sometimes fruit and/or yoghurt packets of hot cereal and hot chocolate. Two other rooms have entries from the side of the combined maze of buildings and are considered oceanview; they are a bit larger. The premier room is in the front and has a large picture window with an essentially unobstructed view of the Bay and mountains and glaciers beyond in both the front and side of the room. There is also a deck that extends the entire length of the front of the "buliding" with deck chairs. This room has a small refrigerator, microwave, table and chairs behind of of the pictureTV w/VCR/DVD, sofa, queen sized bed, and decent sized bathroom with a shower and jacuzzi tub. There is also a cozy one room cabin that is built into the side of the cliff which has an unobstructed view of the Bay, etc. There is a queen sized bed, large flat screen TV with DVD, two chairs for reading, a reading lamp, a small table ad two chairs behind one of the windows, a kitchen area wiht a small refrigeratora, microwave, and sink, and a medium sized bathroom with shower. Part of the grounds are grass and have a porch swing and plastic deck chairs at the eige for great views, though it is often windy. There is also a wood-fired wooden soaking hot tub that is available for use after 7pm with Bay,. etc. views in front of the owners' living room on the grass below the deck. The owners are not very friendly and seem interested solely in getting and keeping your money. They also don't seem to realize that the property is a mess and the descriptions of the rooms are misleading. All of the above comments were made by virtually every guest who stayed at this property.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frqtrvlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We just returned from our Alaska Vacation Homer and the BeachHouse was our first stop. It set the tone for for our amazing vacation. The Beachhouse is fabulous. You really can hear the waves while you sleep. It was great. We were there from Sept 2-6 and we stayed in the Cpmpass Rose Quarters and it was breathtaking. The cottage is furnished with authentic charm. It had a handmade quilt covering the bed. My husband has a bad back and the bed was perfect. In the evenings we would watch the tide go out and watch the otters and seals play in the Bay. They have steps to the beach that goes down to the bay. My husband walks with a cane and he made it to the beach without problems. It was a great place to start a vacation. Sue makes the best homemade breads, for breakfast. She would have fresh fruit, her homemade bread, yogurt, Oatmeal and coffee and juice in the room ready for us to fix whenever we got up. It was a perfect setup. We could eat whenever we were ready and several mornings we were gone very early. There is a swing right at the waters edge just to sit and meditate.and watch for her eagles which we saw . What an amazing place they have . . The only thing I hated was leaving. It was truly spectacular. WE would reccommend the Beachhouse to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay,

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank margiewilson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I have been arranging corporate trips to Homer Alaska for six years now.
I by chance happened upon the website for the Beach House Bed and Breakfast.
The men were so pleased with their stay that they will go nowhere else when visiting Alaska.
The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The hosts are more than accomodating.
This is our second time there and we can't say enough about our stay and the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank linzott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Great place to stay overlooking the Bay in Homer Alaska. Room was very cozy and furnished Alaska style. Easy access to the spit for early morning fishing trips!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed two nights in the Kachemak Room while visiting Homer this August. The location is truly wonderful, with lovely views of the Spit, Kachemak Bay, and lower Cook Inlet. And the B&B's site is very quiet and private. However, as two very experienced travelers, we do feel there are some issues other prospective guests should be aware of before booking a stay in any of the rooms in the main building:

1) The building appears to be a premanufactured structure. Nothing wrong with this except that partition walls are thin and sound travels easily along the floorboards. Our room abutted the Captain's Quarters through a locked door right behind the head of our bed. We could hear their TV, conversations, sneezes, luggage being zipped, and alarm clock both mornings -- at 5:15 and 6 AM. Not exactly the quiet sleep-in mornings we'd hoped for. You certainly would not want to treat the Kachemak room as a honeymoon suite . . .

On the other interior wall of our room there was a curtained-off double door, through which was the B&B's office. Phone conversations in that room were clearly audible as well. We knew our conversations were no more private.

2) At a discounted $190/night plus tax, the room and breakfast were not really worth it. You are paying for location, not getting much more. The cold breakfast included mediocre make-it-yourself coffee, yesterday's muffins, cold cereal (microwaved instant hot cereal was an option) and a small fruit cup of geen grapes and strawberries. Not the kind of full hot breakfast many visitors to Homer will need and expect before spending long active days sea kayaking or on a fishing charter. The B&B's website is honest about this breakfast but at a certain point you have to wonder what makes a B&B a B&B -- most motels and hotels these days have in-room coffee and many have free continental breakfasts as well, with better coffee and fresher pastries than we got.

3) Although the B&B's site promises the sounds of waves on the beach, we couldn't hear any with our windows open. See #1 above for what we did hear. Also, the coast where the B&B is sited is protected from winter storms by a tall steel sheeting seawall. You cannot walk down to the beach from the B&B.

4) We brought our bathing suits, hoping for a post-kayaking soak in the B&B's wood-fired outdoor hot tub which has a great view. But the owners were away and we were told -- after we got there -- that no one else could fire up the tub. While our room had a one-person jetted tub, the bathroom was small and dark and we didn't use it. Not at all the same as sitting together outside with a beverage and a view!

The facility was clean and the staff we met were gracious and welcoming. But it's hard to make up for disturbed sleep, bad coffee, and the nagging sense that every breath you take is being overheard by other guests or office staff. We will likely look elsewhere for better value next time we visit Homer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AKRiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2008

Our main goal is to serve our customers. We have guests from all over the world, and they are very experienced travelers, and they love our property. We are sorry you did not find what you were looking for, you probably won't in Homer.
To address your complaints:
We have had hundreds of guests stay on the property over the last 11 years and we never had anyone complain about noise. The walls you call "partition walls" are NOT there. So your arguement of thin walls and floorboards is not true. They are normal construction , with sound board added to prevent noise.

Our site states we serve a continential breakfast....homemade breads made the day you check in, fresh fruits (banana, strawberries, blueberries, cantalope)depending on the local availability, and fresh Folders coffee is placed in your room each day, yogarts, juice, hot/cold cereals, granola bars, coffee, hot cocoa and tea. Our guests like this as they normally do not eat prior to going fishing. They can take this with them. As any "hotel" we do offer a coffee machine . And Foldgers coffee, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Alot of local b&b/inns charge for the breakfast.
The web site also advises that the Wood fired hot tub is closed in September.
The doors to the "office" are actually the property kitchen and is closed in the evening. There is no access for the guests through these doors.
Our hostess was trying to take care of the guests and their needs in our absence. If there was a problem, she should have been notified. She was not.

As an energy conscious owner ...the Lights in the jacuzzi bathroom are energy efficient bulbs that take a few seconds to come on. Again, no complaints in all these years.

Access to the beach is available, you just need to walk off the end of the wall, not over the top. This wall protects the homeowners along the bay on the inlet side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews