We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and caring host”
Review of Good Karma Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Good Karma Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on July 18&19 in Wisdom Room and really had a wonderful time there. The house is really gorgeous and located at a high position where you can see all beautiful bay and mountains easily. The room is comfortable and clean with chair in balcony for us to relax and enjoy the pretty landscapes. Besides, the most important part account for our great stay is the friendly host - Michael. He introduces Sofia to us, provides all kinds advices on activities and restaurants, and chat with us just like old friend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kachemak, Owner at Good Karma Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

I won't soon forget this lovely young couple ..... They were completely open to every experience that Alaska had to offer.... They were very gracious in inviting me to visit them in Shanghai...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wow, it's difficult to articulate the experience my wife and I enjoyed this past week while visiting the Good Karma Inn.

Everything starts with owner and innkeeper Michael Lemay, a generous and spiritual man who found his life's purpose in Homer, Alaska many years ago and decided to build the Good Karma Inn with his own bare hands.

Michael and his lovely dog Miss Sophie greeted us with open arms and welcomed us into his incredible home. We were shown to our beautiful second floor room with deck and spectacular views. The views of Kachemak Bay and the mountains and glaciers are some of the most beautiful scenes my wife and I ever experienced, and we've had the pleasure of traveling around the world.

Michael then asked us about our local plans and helped us secure dinner reservations at Homer's best restaurants. Homer has a vibrant food scene. It's also well known that Michael is highly regarded locally and helped to introduce us to some amazing local experiences, including a boat trip to Halibut Cove, which is a must-visit. There are also wonderful shops and restaurants on the Spit.

But our most compelling takeaway was the unbridled serenity and peacefulness we experienced while visiting the Good Karma Inn. My wife and I both own businesses and we have difficulty unwinding from our daily lives and our experience at the Good Karma Inn was the first time in a long time that we were able to fully relax, and it was simply divine. There is something very precious and special in what Michael has created with the Good Karma Inn, and it should be experienced my as many people as possible.

I heartily and enthusiastically recommend visiting Michael at the Good Karma Inn. You will not be disappointed, and it will change your life.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rippcord F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wanted to share the most beautiful experience I had staying at this lovely Scandinavian Logged Bed & Breakfast in Homer, Alaska. From the moment we pulled up, Michael, our host, was inviting us in, helping us get comfortable, assigning us to one of his gorgeous rooms, offering us the unrivaled peace and tranquility of his home. We were placed in the room named Widsom. The other 3 are named Kindess, Compassion and Mindfulness. What a nice touch to urge contemplation of these essential qualities, while looking out over truly, the most spectacular view I have ever seen. Homer is a very special place on this Earth, and the Good Karma Inn provides a magnificent opportunity to sit and take in the vast and measureless view of the glacier laden Kenai Peninsula across Kachemak Bay. The beautifully carved and painted Art that Micheal has acquired adds such pleasure to the experience of this B&B. You will thank yourself forever, for giving yourself the Gift of staying at the Good Karma Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We planned only two nights at The Good Karma Inn. That was a mistake. The inn and its owner, Michael LeMay, deserved about a week's stay. The setting of the inn is perfect, overlooking Kachemak Bay in a lovely, rural neighborhood one can walk through and meet the residents. Bill called Michael "the concierge of Homer" because he knows so much about the town, including hikes one can take in it, art galleries to visit, and restaurants to sample. Michael's clear goal was to assure that his guests have a fabulous time and he makes no bones about it. He was helpful and generous. The good karma started with a sampling of wine with Michael that he makes from stock that he orders. Michael then suggested all of the wonderful things we did in Homer, including a boat trip to Halibut Cove via the Danny J and a hike up Diamond Creek. Our room was meticulously provisioned with an ample bed with a lovely quilt, a clean and comfortable bathroom and, best of all, a balcony overlooking the bay and the four glaciers surrounding it. I would more than recommend this inn; I am thinking about spending several weeks there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloudSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you're looking for comfort and hospitality "where the road ends," look no further than the Good Karma Inn.

This is one of the most comfortable, spacious, well-appointed and beautiful rooms I have ever stayed in, hands down, period.

Host Michael is a really wonderful man who has carved of a slice of heaven into the side of the mountain overlooking Kachemak Bay. If you're going to be in Homer, you owe it to yourself to stay a few minutes off the beaten path at the Good Karma Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms are all similar and awesome, but we though "Wisdom" had the best karma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ok well this is the second time I am writing this review, The first time it was not posted. Why would someone take the time to re-write? Because Good Karma Inn, the Wisdom Room is worth the trouble. We arrived July 1and departed on the 5th. Mike was unable to greet us when we arrived, but that did not mean not going out of his why to make us feel welcome. The Good Karma was very clean, views beyond words, and every where you looked unique art. Mike supplied sausages and eggs that you could prepare in a full kitchen. Different kinds of breads and local jams. Need to know where to buy special locally made gifts for those at home? Ask Mike. Mike asks you what would you like to do while here and then proceeds to give you names and numbers of companies to contact to be able to enjoy your vacation. Hungry ask Mike. Every place he suggested was excellent. Homer is a wonderful place to visit, it has the spit, beach, paths to walk on near visitor center. I would highly recommend staying here not for one night....but several!

Room Tip: The wisdom room was wonderful. I would suggest that you bring a sleep mask in the summer if sensitiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybuginthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The host was very gracious and willing to share his extensive knowledge of the area. All restaurant, excursion options and local art suggestions were exceptional. We especially enjoyed our morning bird watching experience with birding expert, Karl Stoltzfus, of Bay Excursions. He was able to take to see many beautiful birds that we would not have seen otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
6.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
6.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#1 of 40 in Homer
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
929 reviews
4.1 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
9 mi away
Alaskan Suites
Alaskan Suites
#3 of 31 in Homer
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Karma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Karma Inn

Address: 57480 Taku Ave E, Homer, AK 99603-9544
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Karma Inn is an elegantly appointed lodge designed for the utmost care and comfort of our guests....And your concerns become ours... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Good Karma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing