We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean amenities-basic park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homer Spit Campground
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed one night in the campground with RV. $41 per night for an electric hook up. Showers were good and hot. $1 charge for shower use. Bathrooms kept clean. Laundry available $2 washer and dryer. Office open till 9pm. Staff friendly. Basic park but fine for overnight stay on the spit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This location, near the end of the Spit, is great if you are looking for natural beauty and an easy walk to the commercial disict on the spit. it is not walkable to sights off the spit. Like other rv parks, however, the parking is jammed together and you might not get quiet if your neighbors are noisy. Wifi was terrible. Laundry worked well but was crowded Asia is used by many not staying at the campground. I would try a city campground next time and save some $.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MidnightWrangler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Pulling our RV up on the Homer Spit for the first time was an awesome experience! It was dark and clear - after we parked, the first thing we did was walk around photographing the sights. We stayed 2 nights, and although the park is basically a parking lot with fire rings, the location is killer. We kayaked to Halibut Cove and had a ridiculously beautiful day, drank at the Salty Dawg, and made new friends around the fire, and never had to start up the RV until we regrettably started the 5 hour drive back on Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Prepare to be nicked and dimed. Expensive camping, and then charged for firewood, towels, showers, etc. Internet password was nowhere to be found and the lady on duty was not interested in helping anyone. Loud campers were clowning around 1 night. The only redeeming factor was the bathroom and view.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank tbott91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I feel sorry for all those people that come to Homer and stay in Hotels. Great opportunity to really soak in the beauty. Rough but so pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Halibut, otters, good food, nice shops, spit is a madhouse.

Room Tip: Try Rosy's B&B on the hill. She is awesome and her little house is really a home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Homer Spit Campground in our 32 foot RV. It certainly is not fancy, and the RVs are parked right next to each other, but you are right on the beach, the view is spectacular, the staff is friendly, and you can easily walk to the boardwalk and all the shops and restaurants just down the spit. There are nice, clean hot showers where you can stay in as long as you'd like for just $1, and a laundry room. We took a water taxi across Kachemak Bay to Kachemak State Park and hiked to the Grewingk Glacier, a nice easy hike that our three young kids enjoyed. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank jeannie2nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
5.7 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
4.4 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
890 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Spit Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Spit Campground

Address: 4535 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8004
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Full Service Campground with camping options. *Beach Front with no services for tents and RV's *Beach View with electricity *Indirect View with or without electricity *Full Service; sewer, water, electric *Water Fill and Dump Stations on Site *Laundry *Showers and Clean Restrooms *Gift Shop *Firewood and Ice for sale *Room to Rent *Free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homer Spit Campgrounds Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing