We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homer is really cool!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homer Spit Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homer Spit Campground
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Sawyer Michigan
Level Contributor
295 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Homer is really cool!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Halibut, otters, good food, nice shops, spit is a madhouse.

Room Tip: Try Rosy's B&B on the hill. She is awesome and her little house is really a home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Homer Spit Campground in our 32 foot RV. It certainly is not fancy, and the RVs are parked right next to each other, but you are right on the beach, the view is spectacular, the staff is friendly, and you can easily walk to the boardwalk and all the shops and restaurants just down the spit. There are nice, clean hot showers where you can stay in as long as you'd like for just $1, and a laundry room. We took a water taxi across Kachemak Bay to Kachemak State Park and hiked to the Grewingk Glacier, a nice easy hike that our three young kids enjoyed. I would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank jeannie2nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Homer Spit Campgrounds is not a luxurious RV park and for me that is good. Located just a couple hundred yards from the Salty Dog Saloon, Coal Point, the harbor and a cool expresso shop. The park offers tent camping, RV sites with water and power and without. For RVs there is an centrally located dump. There are showers for only a buck with lots of hot water.

The highlight is the view is every direction. We saw sea otters regularly swimming by. The place is family owned, very friendly. The atmosphere is casual.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRTHGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Homer Spit Campground is great! You couldn't ask for a better view. Close to the quaint shops. Right on the beach. We hated to leave, really enjoyed our stay. Owner was more than accommodating. We had problems with our electrical hookup and he helped us out immediately even though it was after office hours. Hot showers for $1.00 unlimited time, unlike many other RV parks in Alaska. Eagles right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RosieOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here our last couple of nights on a week long RV trip. We loved the view, bald eagles walking on the beach and very close to shops and other ammenities. We loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Much cheaper for $30 for a waterfront site then the 60-70 on the other side of the spit. You are parked in tight, but the hosts are very friendly and accomidatng. We walked over and took a boat ride to Seldovia and a sight seeing plane ride back. right from our camp site. Cab ride ino town is easy to catch and affordable. Fins pizza down the spit a bit has amazing pizza, view on the second floor and local made beer. The beach in front of the campground is large tumbled rocks that makes a beautiful sounds when the waves crashing on them! And the eagle lady lives in the campground and feeds the local eagles year around, you can't get closer to them anywhere! Homer is a unique place and this is the perfect way to get to know the locals and enjoy all it has to offer, including the amazing view!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brewingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

Homer Spit Campground, at the end of the Spit.
The rate was a bit steeper than most at $32 for a full hook up. That includes only electric, a picnic table and firepit. There is a dump site and potable water to fill the tank as you leave. Laundry room provides ample machines. Level gravel sites and opportunities to see eagles up close and personal. Showers were clean and secure with a hook on the door. Extra charge of a dollar each shower.
The view was picturesque and worth the extra few bucks. We were fortunate to not have anyone blocking our view of the beach. Within 1-2 mile walking distance of some great shops and restaurants. Walk down to the 2nd boardwalk to the Fresh Catch Cafe'. A smallish cafe' with great gourmet food for reasonable prices, and that is saying a lot in Alaska. Food is expensive there. Fantastic halibut fish and chips made with Japanese panko breadcrumbs for only $10 and terrific fish chowder.
We would stay at this friendly campground again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
4.4 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
0.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Spit Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Spit Campground

Property: Homer Spit Campground
Address: 4535 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8004
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Full Service Campground with camping options. *Beach Front with no services for tents and RV's *Beach View with electricity *Indirect View with or without electricity *Full Service; sewer, water, electric *Water Fill and Dump Stations on Site *Laundry *Showers and Clean Restrooms *Gift Shop *Firewood and Ice for sale *Room to Rent *Free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homer Spit Campgrounds Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing