We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“real alaska”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed at the driftwood inn late june 2013.we found the rooms comfortable and clean. bigger than expected for such an old historic inn. most importantly, the people were wonderful and very accommodating.we arrived a day early to go on overnight fishing trip. without even looking up our reservation- they stored all our bags and suitcases in their locked storage room.they believe in customer service.location was wonderful too

Room Tip: they have a variety of room types. some with shared bathrooms, but they will be more than happy to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    224
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
244
236
60
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We will only be in Homer once, so we wanted a room with a view, space to move around and easy access everywhere. Our room, #26 in what seems to be a former house, was superb. Lots of space, a huge walk in closet, great bathroom, good linens, good pillows and a Keurig coffee machine with lots of supplies. It was clean, well-located and early in the morning, we had an eagle on our turret. The room was very comfortable, and the desk people very helpful.

One of the very nicest things was that we also had access to the whole house - a kitchen, dining area and living room, a lovely library with a lot of Alaska resources. The house has a washer and dryer, ironing board and iron. You have to pay for the washer and dryer, but there is a large jar of laundry detergent, which was such a nice convenience. They ask that you lable anything you put in the full sized refrigerator in the kitchen, but you can use the stove, oven, microwave and refrigerator as part of your stay.

The Elks might party on Saturday, but the live band quits at twelve :-)

I would like this place a lot better if they had a shuttle pick up from the ferry :-) I still give them five stars; it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 26 is upstairs with a great view. Check their websites; they show you the rooms and the views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intlxpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The accommodations were excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the halibut fishing trip; excellent guide who knew exactly what to do and where to go. We caught our limit thanks to him!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Chose the Driftwood Inn as we wanted to also select a fishing charter as well. Driftwood Inn and Driftwood Charters works out of the same office so it seemed like a good choice. When we checked in I was bumped from the fishing charter and sent to another charter without any previous communication. I had made the reservation 7 months ahead and now my disappointment has hit me hard and unhappy to say the least, however, we did come to a compromise. I will explain the details in my review of Driftwood Charters also on Trip Advisor. The room at Driftwood Inn was average at best but one must also consider what Homer has to offer - not a lot to choose from. The suite had a kitchen but had no pots, pans, plates, or any other kitchen ware. The bed was comfortable and the two rooms were spacious enough. For the price, it seems like the kitchen should have been stocked so it could be used. Granted, we got started off wrong with a change of our charter, however, the suite had nothing above average to mention any further. The location was quite nice as we were able to walk on the beach and enjoy the two evening that we were there. You may want to check out other places in Homer and don't think that you have any benefit in joining Driftwood Inn with Driftwood Charters - it didn't work for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

On a scale on one to ten, this rates a seven.
The "Lodge" (not the other low cost rooms) is a two story newer building on the ocean bluff with unobstructed views.
We stayed on the ground floor with a partial view (a handicap accessible room).
TV, internet, great little no-fuss coffee maker and private side door for entry/exit. No phone.
Bed was a Murphy-style bed - it made my bad back hurt but wife slept okay.

The great thing about this room is that it is adjacent to the public room - the public room has a full ocean view, outside deck, inside spacious seating with tables and sofa for relaxing. Next to the living room is a full-out modern kitchen with island and dining table for six.
The other guests never used the kitchen or seating area - so for us, it was like being at home - very comfortable and next to our sleeping quarters. Cost: $188.

The bad: 1) Upstairs apparently has a jacuzzi bath right over our bed. Whatever it was, it had motors that were easily heard by us.
2) There is an exterior light for the handicap ramp. . .it lit up the bedroom. This could be easily solved by the ownership with a dark curtain (dark curtains are sold at Costco in Anchorage)
3) Grit from the driveway is tracked inside the front hall. . .a) more shoe cleaning type mats are needed. b) Our room needed a sit-down bench inside the exterior door for taking off shoes.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in the lodge building cost a little more but have better views of the ocean and should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is nothing glamorous about this hotel, but in Homer, it is as good as it gets. This hotel/RV park is comfortable, safe, clean and very close to some very good restaurants. Our room had three beds, with two of those being a twin over a double. The folks running the place were warm and friendly and very accommodating. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: You will be close to your neighbors the way the rooms are laid out (motel style), but that makes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, MN.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was on a trip with a women's travel group, so had no input into where we were staying. Stayed in a small room with two bunk beds for 4 women. Felt like I was back in college at the dorms. Wouldn't recommend the sleeping arrangements for 4 adult, unrelated women. Might be okay for a family with small kids or college kids. Room seemed clean. Spent very little time here so it was a place to sleep and that's all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
1.0 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Property: Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Homer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing