We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is nothing glamorous about this hotel, but in Homer, it is as good as it gets. This hotel/RV park is comfortable, safe, clean and very close to some very good restaurants. Our room had three beds, with two of those being a twin over a double. The folks running the place were warm and friendly and very accommodating. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: You will be close to your neighbors the way the rooms are laid out (motel style), but that makes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLMMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 734 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was on a trip with a women's travel group, so had no input into where we were staying. Stayed in a small room with two bunk beds for 4 women. Felt like I was back in college at the dorms. Wouldn't recommend the sleeping arrangements for 4 adult, unrelated women. Might be okay for a family with small kids or college kids. Room seemed clean. Spent very little time here so it was a place to sleep and that's all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just off Homer's Main Street, the first impression of the Driftwood Inn is somewhat down-at-heel. A rather tired-looking clapboard building, nestled against an RV park. Once inside, however, the welcome is warm and accommodating, and our unit (24) was a revelation. The unit is a room within a larger building, which has a spacious shared (between about 5 rooms) living area and kitchen, which leads out to a grassy backyard and an awesome view over the bay and surrounding mountains. The units are well cared for, and a fully functioning CharBroil grill in the backyard and chess set in the living room are nice touches. Our family of 4 felt pampered.

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the Historic Inn (as others have pointed out there is also a RV park and the lodges). Many of the rooms don't have bathrooms and share two bathrooms in the hallway. Our room did have a bathroom, though quite possibly one of the smallest bathrooms I've ever been in. Our room (#1 I believe) had two beds and was one the corner so had two windows, though not overlooking the bay. The room was quite clean and the staff was very nice. However, having blackout curtains would definitely be nice during the summer. On the other hand, the rooms don't have AC (which isn't particularly unusual for the area) and so opening the windows to get some air is needed if it gets really hot (which it did while we were there).

Anywhere else this would probably be a two or three star review. However, the price was good (for Alaska) and its probably the best of what I saw in Homer, so I'm sticking with 4 stars. Being a short walk from Two Sisters Bakery as well as the bay certainly doesn't hurt.

Room Tip: Check the room description to make sure your room has a bathroom if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treznor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Driftwood Inn at the "Historic" location. We waited until the last minute to get reservations and we mostly needed a nice clean room to sleep during the time we visited Homer. We went to Homer to take in all of its' beauty and fun things to do. We did not go to experience the "hotel" room. After calling multiple places, we found this location and could not have been happier. The room was CLEAN and quaint. Yes, it was small and with two sets of bunk beds it felt like a camp; but you have to remember we waited until the last minute. The personnel went out of their way to help in any manner possible. The view (outside of our room) was great, there was a nice place to catch dinner across the street, and it was off the main road so it was quiet. For the person concerned about no "black out curtains," buy an eye mask with the elastic in the back. It would help. Alaska caters to its' visitors as we thoroughly enjoy sharing our "Post Card" surroundings. There is nothing like it and I personally wish everyone could visit at least once. However, we also spend nine months a year in the dark. When summer arrives, we are ready for light and it doesn't bother us. We NEED it! So when in Alaska, try to do as the Alaskans do! We enjoy it! We hope you do as well!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Genoa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you book a hotel from a picture it sometimes looks great but then you get there & you wonder just what you are going to find inside. We drove up front & just sat looking at the place. It looked like it had had better days. We went in asked if we could see the rooms. The lady at the desk guided us to a very LARGE house over looking the water. What a SURPRISE it was lovely. Water & mountain view, so beautiful we hated to leave. We had a common room/kitchen where we could sit around & visit with other guests. Great place to sit & have a cup of tea or coffee & relax. Would reccomend if you are in the Homer area.

Room Tip: Choose the house instead of the lodge, they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieMc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were totally happy with place. Rooms were spacious and generously furnished with large baths sink microwave cooler and high end coffee maker. front desk staff were very warm and helpful.

The view from our room (and most others) was of the water and mountains on the other side. Sunsets were amazingly beautiful.

This place was quiet and comfortable and very conveniently located. A winner.

Room Tip: Get a room in the building to the West of the office building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maguiredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.0 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: $62 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing