We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
484
238
51
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
238
51
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rv park captain shane european style within walking distance bishop's beach living room shared bathroom fishing charter common areas fat olives great view kachemak bay small room place to stay halibut double bed main building
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 798 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was on a trip with a women's travel group, so had no input into where we were staying. Stayed in a small room with two bunk beds for 4 women. Felt like I was back in college at the dorms. Wouldn't recommend the sleeping arrangements for 4 adult, unrelated women. Might be okay for a family with small kids or college kids. Room seemed clean. Spent very little time here so it was a place to sleep and that's all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just off Homer's Main Street, the first impression of the Driftwood Inn is somewhat down-at-heel. A rather tired-looking clapboard building, nestled against an RV park. Once inside, however, the welcome is warm and accommodating, and our unit (24) was a revelation. The unit is a room within a larger building, which has a spacious shared (between about 5 rooms) living area and kitchen, which leads out to a grassy backyard and an awesome view over the bay and surrounding mountains. The units are well cared for, and a fully functioning CharBroil grill in the backyard and chess set in the living room are nice touches. Our family of 4 felt pampered.

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the Historic Inn (as others have pointed out there is also a RV park and the lodges). Many of the rooms don't have bathrooms and share two bathrooms in the hallway. Our room did have a bathroom, though quite possibly one of the smallest bathrooms I've ever been in. Our room (#1 I believe) had two beds and was one the corner so had two windows, though not overlooking the bay. The room was quite clean and the staff was very nice. However, having blackout curtains would definitely be nice during the summer. On the other hand, the rooms don't have AC (which isn't particularly unusual for the area) and so opening the windows to get some air is needed if it gets really hot (which it did while we were there).

Anywhere else this would probably be a two or three star review. However, the price was good (for Alaska) and its probably the best of what I saw in Homer, so I'm sticking with 4 stars. Being a short walk from Two Sisters Bakery as well as the bay certainly doesn't hurt.

Room Tip: Check the room description to make sure your room has a bathroom if that's important to you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treznor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Driftwood Inn at the "Historic" location. We waited until the last minute to get reservations and we mostly needed a nice clean room to sleep during the time we visited Homer. We went to Homer to take in all of its' beauty and fun things to do. We did not go to experience the "hotel" room. After calling multiple places, we found this location and could not have been happier. The room was CLEAN and quaint. Yes, it was small and with two sets of bunk beds it felt like a camp; but you have to remember we waited until the last minute. The personnel went out of their way to help in any manner possible. The view (outside of our room) was great, there was a nice place to catch dinner across the street, and it was off the main road so it was quiet. For the person concerned about no "black out curtains," buy an eye mask with the elastic in the back. It would help. Alaska caters to its' visitors as we thoroughly enjoy sharing our "Post Card" surroundings. There is nothing like it and I personally wish everyone could visit at least once. However, we also spend nine months a year in the dark. When summer arrives, we are ready for light and it doesn't bother us. We NEED it! So when in Alaska, try to do as the Alaskans do! We enjoy it! We hope you do as well!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Genoa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you book a hotel from a picture it sometimes looks great but then you get there & you wonder just what you are going to find inside. We drove up front & just sat looking at the place. It looked like it had had better days. We went in asked if we could see the rooms. The lady at the desk guided us to a very LARGE house over looking the water. What a SURPRISE it was lovely. Water & mountain view, so beautiful we hated to leave. We had a common room/kitchen where we could sit around & visit with other guests. Great place to sit & have a cup of tea or coffee & relax. Would reccomend if you are in the Homer area.

Room Tip: Choose the house instead of the lodge, they are lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieMc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews