We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
476
237
51
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
237
51
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv parkcaptain shaneeuropean stylewithin walking distancebishop's beachliving roomshared bathroomfishing chartercommon areasfat olivesgreat viewkachemak baysmall roomplace to stayhalibutdouble bedmain building
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 789 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Driftwood Inn at the "Historic" location. We waited until the last minute to get reservations and we mostly needed a nice clean room to sleep during the time we visited Homer. We went to Homer to take in all of its' beauty and fun things to do. We did not go to experience the "hotel" room. After calling multiple places, we found this location and could not have been happier. The room was CLEAN and quaint. Yes, it was small and with two sets of bunk beds it felt like a camp; but you have to remember we waited until the last minute. The personnel went out of their way to help in any manner possible. The view (outside of our room) was great, there was a nice place to catch dinner across the street, and it was off the main road so it was quiet. For the person concerned about no "black out curtains," buy an eye mask with the elastic in the back. It would help. Alaska caters to its' visitors as we thoroughly enjoy sharing our "Post Card" surroundings. There is nothing like it and I personally wish everyone could visit at least once. However, we also spend nine months a year in the dark. When summer arrives, we are ready for light and it doesn't bother us. We NEED it! So when in Alaska, try to do as the Alaskans do! We enjoy it! We hope you do as well!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Genoa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When you book a hotel from a picture it sometimes looks great but then you get there & you wonder just what you are going to find inside. We drove up front & just sat looking at the place. It looked like it had had better days. We went in asked if we could see the rooms. The lady at the desk guided us to a very LARGE house over looking the water. What a SURPRISE it was lovely. Water & mountain view, so beautiful we hated to leave. We had a common room/kitchen where we could sit around & visit with other guests. Great place to sit & have a cup of tea or coffee & relax. Would reccomend if you are in the Homer area.

Room Tip: Choose the house instead of the lodge, they are lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieMc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were totally happy with place. Rooms were spacious and generously furnished with large baths sink microwave cooler and high end coffee maker. front desk staff were very warm and helpful.

The view from our room (and most others) was of the water and mountains on the other side. Sunsets were amazingly beautiful.

This place was quiet and comfortable and very conveniently located. A winner.

Room Tip: Get a room in the building to the West of the office building.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maguiredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reviewing the website which gives great descriptions of the rooms along with room numbers we decided that our best option was in one of the separate lodges. Actually the lodge looked like it was a one time a home, with a great common area/kitchen downstairs. Our room was very large with even a walk in closet! It also had a large balcony facing the beautiful water and mountains. Unfortunately and this was a major factor in my giving an average for overall rating the room had only blinds for curtains. It is mind boggling for a hotel where it is light for almost the entire night not to have some sort of heavy duty curtain. We resorted to trying to hang our clothes over the rods, balancing the throw pillows against the blinds. The service was fine and the room clean but really haven't they heard of blackout curtains??

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pindawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Choosing to stay at the Driftwood after reading the reviews was confusing. I kept asking myself, am I in the same place? After retreading them, I realized the reviews (and the traveler photos) are of multiple properties. We stayed at what they call the Historic Inn. Although their website (and many reviews) cite bay views, it is a real stretch. The Inn is across a street from other buildings that are on the bay. The rooms are tiny, very clean and the staff very nice. But. 'Historic' should be interpreted as 'old', not B&B cute. It is basic with the (very clean) bathrooms down the hall. There is nothing wrong with the place, but just know what you are getting into!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. It was on the end, so had windows on two sides which helped the claustrophobia of being so tiny, and probably the noise factor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 523SM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews