We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
477
237
51
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
237
51
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv parkcaptain shaneeuropean stylewithin walking distancebishop's beachliving roomshared bathroomfishing chartercommon areasfat olivesgreat viewkachemak baysmall roomplace to stayhalibutdouble bedmain building
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 790 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were totally happy with place. Rooms were spacious and generously furnished with large baths sink microwave cooler and high end coffee maker. front desk staff were very warm and helpful.

The view from our room (and most others) was of the water and mountains on the other side. Sunsets were amazingly beautiful.

This place was quiet and comfortable and very conveniently located. A winner.

Room Tip: Get a room in the building to the West of the office building.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maguiredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reviewing the website which gives great descriptions of the rooms along with room numbers we decided that our best option was in one of the separate lodges. Actually the lodge looked like it was a one time a home, with a great common area/kitchen downstairs. Our room was very large with even a walk in closet! It also had a large balcony facing the beautiful water and mountains. Unfortunately and this was a major factor in my giving an average for overall rating the room had only blinds for curtains. It is mind boggling for a hotel where it is light for almost the entire night not to have some sort of heavy duty curtain. We resorted to trying to hang our clothes over the rods, balancing the throw pillows against the blinds. The service was fine and the room clean but really haven't they heard of blackout curtains??

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pindawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Choosing to stay at the Driftwood after reading the reviews was confusing. I kept asking myself, am I in the same place? After retreading them, I realized the reviews (and the traveler photos) are of multiple properties. We stayed at what they call the Historic Inn. Although their website (and many reviews) cite bay views, it is a real stretch. The Inn is across a street from other buildings that are on the bay. The rooms are tiny, very clean and the staff very nice. But. 'Historic' should be interpreted as 'old', not B&B cute. It is basic with the (very clean) bathrooms down the hall. There is nothing wrong with the place, but just know what you are getting into!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. It was on the end, so had windows on two sides which helped the claustrophobia of being so tiny, and probably the noise factor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 523SM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

First of all, let me note that the Driftwood is three different properties that are all reviewed under hotels...the lodges (which look very nice) is really a different experience from the historic hotel, and the Rv park is also reviewed as a hotel. I'm strictly reviewing the historic hotel. Here's a quick review...

- Rooms...tiny and uncomfortable. If you plan to spend ANY time in your room besides to sleep, look elsewhere. A full size bed.
- Bathrooms...European shared bathrooms. Adequate, but the shower stall is tiny. I'm a relatively tall, slim guy and everytime I reached down I bumped the valve, resulting in either very hot or very cold water.
- Staff...friendly and helpful
- Clenliness...very good.
-View...don't bother paying for a bay view. It's partially blocked by the much nicer lodges.

Overall, I would have been more content spending more money and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bike_california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in during our recent Alaska trip. We stayed at the adjacent house to the main building. Great beach view, quiet, peaceful. The room was extremely clean and tastefully decorated. Location is just outside town - we loved the fact there were not many people around. They do not serve breakfast but there are two places that do just down the street. You will not regret if you stay there. The staff was very polite and the room rates are fair.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botafogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews