We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Will definitely return! My husband & I stayed two nites recently in Room 21 of the main lodge, which had a great partial view of the ocean. One of the older rooms but more than met our needs, esp with kitchenette. A family of sandhill cranes walked by one evening. Great walks along the ocean right outside our door provided a very secluded feeling in late August. Also walking distance to excellent restaurants - Two Sister's Bakery, The Mermaid Cafe and The Fat Olive. We're planning to take the family back in the future, and probably rent out the cottage or rooms in the Seaside or Bluffview Lodges. Desk very helpful with trail hikes, fish charter needs, etc

Room Tip: ask for room with a view - well worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 737 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed two night for a wedding which was held on the property. The site consists of a very old building which is the main lodge, and three other buildings which are almost like a B&B but without the host. The main building does not have great views of the water. The other three are built on a bluff overlooking Bishops Beach.

We stayed in Unit 29, which had a great view of the water from both the large window as well as the lanai. The building we were in had five living spaces, but was built in such a way that three was little noise exchange between rooms. Each room includes it's own bath, which is really nice; there is shared common space with a kitchen (sans range) as well as a living room, dining area and plenty of games to keep everyone busy if they are so inclined.

One of the surpise attractions was a family of four sandhill cranes that were walking around on the beach until a dog began chasing them. It was very nice to see the cranes. And, Home is famous for it's eagles, one of which came by to check out the outdoor wedding and just hovered, floating on the wind for a few seconds. Way cool.

The staff were pleasant, accomodating and efficient. We would definitely stay here again next time we visit Homer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A group of four fisherman, myself included, stayed in a townhouse type lodge on this property and we all thought it was great. We had direct views of the bay through large bay windows that ran from the floor to the second floor ceiling. The lodge had a loft type bedroom on the second floor with 2 beds and a half bath. The first floor had 2 bedrooms and a full bath and kitchen, and small living area. It is very convenient to everything, Homer being so small.

Room Tip: Next to our lodge, there were larger lodges so if you have a larger group you may want to inquire ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertram4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at the Driftwood for the first time this summer and had an excellent time. Booked a private room with kitchen and bathroom for 4 adults and a 10 year old--plenty of space. Location is perfect for walking to Two Sisters, Meadery, Cups, Fat Olives etc as well as exploring Bishops Beach and Refuge trails. RV campground was outside our door and packed but lent a fun, social aspect to hanging out on the shared deck and using the grills. Everything was clean and staff were very friendly and accomodating. Will gladly stay here in the future--prices are very reasonable for what you get!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

There was an unexpected snag with out reservation. Not the hotel's fault, but one of the other customers. They dealt with it quickly and efficiently, and were very friendly and professional. They have a beautiful view of the mountains across the inlet that I could stare at for hours. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Driftwood was among our best experiences during 3 weeks travelling in Alaska. Reasonable price, clean room for 4, good mattresses, clean shared bathrooms, and helpful area to use a refrigerator and have a light breakfast. Driftwood manages this all while exuding to guests the character of Homer.

Room Tip: Room size is small in keeping with a historic building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWhereNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room was clean, quiet, had TV, internet, and was overlooking the water and a glorious view. The bathroom toilet ran a little, but the staff was attentive and took note to fix it. It was close to downtown and within walking distance of restaurants giftshops etc... The Staff was wonderful, and gave great restaurant recommendations even when asked beyound their initial suggestion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmommadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
917 reviews
1 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Homer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: $74 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing