We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place”
Review of Homer Spit

Homer Spit
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've visited 46 states and several countries and the Homer Spit is still my favorite place. While finding it on a sunny day isn't always easy, it's unusual and can be enjoyable rain or shine (although shine is far better!).

Walking the beach, seeing seals, otters, and whales while looking at the mountains on the other side of the bay is like nowhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    301
    116
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We enjoyed the spit in Homer even though most businesses were closed. We went down to take pictures on the sun set. We left from the harbor to go halibut fishing. Interesting piece of land in Homer AK

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lgatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The view alone from the Spit in Homer is worth the visit BUT”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Along with the view which is every spectacular, you shouldn't miss the shops with local art and crafts. If it's halibut fishing season, you can watch them unloading the people-sized fish from the boats at the wharf.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sieglinde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The place to go for eagles”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Homer has been famous for its eagles for a long time, and still is, even though it's harder now to get the premier shots. If you are looking for great bald eagle photography, your best bet is to sign up for a dedicated photography tour, but I have heard people can still get lucky on their own. Many wildlife photographers sponsor tours. (I would recommend going with Robert O'Toole if you can get a spot.) Homer and Kachemak Bay are the most beautiful areas in all of Alaska. The weather is chilly even in summer; best to bring warm, waterproof clothing. Food and accommodations (we stayed at The Land's End Resort) were fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
827 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Unique - look for otters swimming”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The view from the hills above town of the Homer Spit sticking out into the ocean is unique because there just aren't many spits like this, much less one this big. The mountains and glaciers across the bay were inspiring and I wish we had the time to go across the bay and do some hiking there. There are some good restaurants out on the spit and watching the sunset was cool. We saw an otter swimming just off the spit which was cool.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homer Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing