We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beluga Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Shores(Homer)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End Resort(Homer)(Great Value!)
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
16
34
34
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
34
34
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalamari appetizermicrowave and fridgequeen bedclean roomsthe lower levelwould stay here againratesfishing
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Beluga Lake Lodge is a comfortable, affordable place to stay in a gorgeous little town. We had a modest first floor room on the uphill side of the hotel, so our window was at ground level looking out at the parking lot. As others have noted, the first floor rooms are small. Ours was a little musty on arrival, but it was nothing an open window couldn't fix. We slept SO well on a seriously comfortable bed and spent the rest of our time exploring Homer. The high speed internet helped us find the yummiest dinners, and the in-room fridge was great for leftovers when our eyes were bigger than our tummies. In all, the Beluga Lake Lodge was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crredwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

On short notice a hotel was required they were polite and eager to provide competitive rates. The wireless was sufficient speed and free. The location of the hotel is right at the end of the spit but on the mainland. The hotel is older. The breakfast is pretty lean on selection but there is a McDonalds across the street and bakeries down the road. This hotel worked out well. However things to be aware of if you stay downstairs you will hear the people above your and the housekeeping staff leaves notes requesting tips.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

The location is convenient but in no way makes up for the rest of the experience. Management was less than helpful. In fact when I suspected a light was out in my room management was put off that I would not change my own light bulb. My travel companion did not received their wake up call and if it were not for the use of a personal alarm we would have completely missed our fishing charter. Rooms had an odor and the hotel was very loud with inadequate soundproofing of the rooms. Overall a horrible, smelly and loud experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spivey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Management was absolutely unprofessional. Rooms are UNSAFE with wires hanging out of the heaters that didn't work. Connecting doors between rooms left unlocked even when we complained...strangers came into our room at night twice! Every review I read says they are remodeling and they have been saying that for over 2 years. The rooms were dispicable, no emergency contacts for nightime and walls paper thin. And did I say the Manager was absolutely unprofessional....we left 6 days early- almost ruined our whole vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twomanics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lugalady, General Manager at Beluga Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

I am sorry this guest had a bad experience here. WE are in process of upgrading and remodeling the property. As everyone knows it takes money to get things done. The economy has made us slow down a bit with things. We are in process of putting in a new heating system. That is why the heaters look the way they do. We also have the heat turned off, because the building stays too warm. We have small heaters to offer if someone needs it. As always, we try to accomodate to the best of our ability. Customer service is a large part of the tourist industry, however, there still remains things we can't change. We have had many positive comments about the changes we're making and hope people will still consider visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The property is very close to the Split and is conveniently located if you have to catch a plane to bear watch, but it is very exepensive (450 USD for 3 nights) for what it has to offer. The decor is clearly updated and the rooms are quite small and a little bit smelly. Our TV did not function properly but it id not bother us very much, the bar and restaurant were closed for the season (late August) and the room service lady did not show up one Sunday. When I complained about it to the manager she was not very helpful, and only offered fresh towels. I did not want to argue as we did have a great time in Homer, but we had to tidy the bed ourselves. Choose somewhere else in Homer if you can, but visit Homer anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lugalady, manager at Beluga Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2010

As with any type of business that deals with the public, we are aware that you cannot please everyone. We strive to help guests to best of our ability. There are just some things we have no control over. Our local cable company had just switched our service to using the digital converter boxes and they were complicated to many people, so we printed instruction sheets for each room.
We would like to advise anyone experienceing a problem or concern to ask the front desk for assistance and give them a chance to rectify the problem. Our goal is to do our best to make sure your Alaska visit is what you hope it wll be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews