We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, that's all.”
Review of Seaside Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Farm
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View, that's all.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This review is specific to the bunk house only. I did not stay in the campground or cabins.

I was immediately struck by how odd and impolite the owner was. She also was very abrasive in how she treated her staff. The bunkhouse is dark and dirty. The shower and toilet facilites were filthy. The internet is very inconsistent and slow. The bunks are very old and creak loudly. The place is filled with passive aggressive signs, some of which threaten that if you leave your possessions out, they will be confiscated.

However, the view was AMAZING. The property was incredibly charming and you can walk right down to the beach where there are clams and scallops abound. The camping area looked really amazing, save for the outhouse which had a door that wouldn't close. The pavilion and outdoor kitchen seemed nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the bunkhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidemossy, Owner at Seaside Farm, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
This particular guest was rude and demanding, and very picky, even though I provided linens and apologized for the fact we were renovating the bunkroom and bathrooms, even gave him a choice to stay in one of the nicer rooms upstairs. The toilets were under construction! So unfortuantely guests temporarily had to use the outhouse,and everyone was very nice and understanding about it. This humble bunk room is for backpacker folks traveing with sleeping bags, and in the lower floor of our farm home, its not a commercial facility. For those who want generic and sterile we recommend a local hotel chain. I am sorry this place is not for everyone, but most folks love it here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at seaside last week, and it was one of the most memorable experiences I have had throughout my years of traveling. Situated on a lively farm with spectacular views, your spirit will be renewed by this magical place. The young staff was extremely kind, helpful, and knowledgable about farm life. They made me feel right at home with their warm smiles and conversation. Rooms were very clean, well stocked and spacious. I always had what I needed and more. The farm itself is bubbling with fantastic creatures, and gorgeous vegetation is abundant. The view of the Alaskan Range isn't so bad either.

Seaside is an Alaskan treat! 

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotawhowanderRlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We sayed two nights there in a cabin just above the beach and with excellent glacier view. AWESOME. Cabins are simple but easy to heat up. Although situated out of town you can easily access by car. Staff is very friendly and supportive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This review is hard to write, as I really wanted to love this place. Rustic is an understatement. The farm has astounding views and nurtures natural life on its property. Mossy is as delightful as legend suggests and clearly loves the land and critters it supports. The cabins may be beautiful and secluded.

Unfortunately, the guest house is old and needs some basic maintenance and a good cleaning. By way of example, a big living room window had a crack across it mended with tape, the bathroom window is held open with a shampoo bottle, dirty dishes sit in the sink, and the carpet under my bed was just gross. Bring shower shoes for the shared bathroom.

Also be prepared for the alternative vibe, courtesy of the twenty-somethings who manage the guest house and work the farm. They cook and socialize together in the common areas -- one morning as late as 2am. Guests are welcome to join in with them, but shouldn't expect to find coffee waiting for them in the morning. Bring your breakfast food, label it with name and date, and store it in the communal refrigerator.

All of this could be just fine if guests know what to expect. I took pictures of the terms posted in the entry way, which I wish I'd seen before booking. See attached photos. Complimentary Wi-Fi is unsecure.

Room Tip: "Crow's Nest" room in the guest house is over the kitchen and dining room area, along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamitxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidemossy, Owner at Seaside Farm, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
The gentleman writing the review stayed many days and though he seemed to be having a good time , he obviously was unhappy from the start, and though he was around most of the time, and had plenty of opportunity to talk to me, he neglected to tell management about his complaints, which we would gladly have addressed. We tried everything to make his stay enjoyable, but you cant please everyone.We are not the Best Western, which obviously is a better choice for some. . OUr helpers and crew was just getting started and we were short handed--and not 100% open ready yet for guests this early in the year, so we regret him having an adverse experience. We have isntalled a very strict 11 p.m quiet time and no cooking int the kitchen quiet time as well, though sometimes even guests stay up late to enjoy a late dinner. . .
Some things, however are unavoidable, and part of living in this remote country and on a farm. For example, the broken window was caused by a recent earthquake, of which we have many around here! Also may roosters crow early in the morn under your window, and tractors may be rumbling around making hay til midnight. If its not a farm you want with occasional hay tracked into the living room, by accident, then folks are welocme to stay elsewhere and we always give them their money back! We want happy people here .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

In spring I had a wonderful stay in the main house on Seaside Farm,Homer. The view from Mossys property to the glaciers and mountains over the bay is breathtaking and over a path you have access to the never ending beach.
During my stay in the main house I enjoyed to meet other travelers from all over the world. In the big community kitchen you can find everything you need for cooking and the hole community area was always clean and tidy. There's also a small and old bathroom, but it was very cute and clean. In my room I had lots of space and towels as well as washrags were provided. For one night I stayed in the Seashell cabin, which is situated above the beach with a incredible view over Kackemak bay. It's an unforgettable adventure to spend a night in a simple cabin with a wood stove, lovingly decorated, in the middle of Alaskas beautiful nature, without any noise caused by humans.

Mossys Seaside Farm is a perfect spot for a great Alaskan experience. I really enjoyed to have the animals around, observe them enjoying the nature and see they love their live on Mossys Farm.

I'll definitly be back on this very special place and pick some organic raspberries from Mossys patch ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I come back to seaside every year for a reason. its a beautiful, fun, friendly hostel with the most spectacular views. The staff are always friendly, cheery and helpful. The rustic main house is a great taste of alaska while being warm and comfortable all times of the year! the pavilion and bon fire pit are absolutely adorable and we have many fond memories around the campfire. The view is UNBEATABLE! with full access to one of alaska's fines beaches, beautiful rolling fields and fantastic forests, the trails are easy to follow, the signs adorable and overall this is really just a fantastic place. The cabins are clean and rustic, with comfortable accommodations, and breathtaking views. the camping field is flat and even with soft grass to add comfort! if you want to enjoy alaska and get a taste of the real alaska experience i strongly strongly encourage you to come to seaside. Its one of those " must see before you die" kind of places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Seaside Farm is a wonderful place to stay. It is magic.... and people are just great and very friendly. The facilities were simple, but clean. This is not an usual touristy place, it is an alaskan experience - a good and unique one. I can surely recommend this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.6 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
4.8 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
5.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Farm

Property: Seaside Farm
Address: 40904 Seaside Farm Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9460
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Seaside Farm Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing