We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but un called for remark”
Review of Pioneer Inn Homer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pioneer Inn Homer
Ranked #10 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I traveled to Homer to take pictures Have a nice meal and peace of mind. I was told out right not to bring a man back to my room that it was a family Inn..little did the owner know I am a heart broken widow and was very disturbed about such a comment it was completely uncalled for, Clean and reasonable I would pay way more not to be insulted.

Sincerly, Captain Carrie
South Florida.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captcarriejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fetterhoff, Owner at Pioneer Inn Homer, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2011

Our remarks to this guest were based on earlier converstions with her and while we certainly don't want to offend anyone, our highest responsibility is to insure the quality of visit for other guests also staying with us... rich and amy owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Inn. We spent 2 nights there and found Amy and Rich very helpful and friendly. We had a large room on the top floor which had a separate bedroom as well as a full kitchen. It wasn't brand new or luxurious but had everything we needed. They had free WiFi as well.

From the top floor there was a nice view across the bay.

The hotel is only a few miles from the Homer Spit and there are shops, art galleries, supermarkets etc a short drive away.

One of the days we were there we did a fishing charter with Inlet Charters (highly recommended) and brought back about 37 pounds of halibut. Amy and Rich and their son Ben (I think) helped us prepare these, gave us some tinfoil and other supplies and gave us some recommendations how to cook them. The fishing charter companies can organize to freeze and vacuum pack your catch and have it shipped back to anywhere in the USA. That was not an option for us Aussies so we gave most of the fish to Amy who passed it on to another local family who did not have their own boat.

Anyway we can highly recommend the Pioneer Inn.

Dom & Narrelle
Canberra, Australia

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank djk_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at Homer, AK with our two sons. We had a suite with a full kitchen and a separate bedroom for my husband and myself. The boys slept on daybeds in the front room. Our room was on the corner upstairs, so it was quiet . The owners were very friendly and helpful. They made sure that we had everything we needed in the kitchen, such as extra pots and pans. (Cooking our meals was a big savings.) We had a beautiful view of the bay and the mountains. On the long Alaskan evenings, it was a pleasure to watch the changing light reflected on the scene out our window.
The owners also gave suggestions for things we might want to do. The inn is in town, so we could walk to the Pratt Museum. We stayed 6 nights at the Pioneer Inn. We highly recommend this inn for families and would stay there if we visit Homer again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaskaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My son and I had planned our August trip to Alaska quite carefully, but there is always risk involved in making reservations at inns or hotels not yet reviewed and that you've never stayed in before. The three nights we spent in Homer Alaska were spent at the Pioneer Inn. The owners were wonderfully friendly, our room was very comfortable, the rates were very reasonable and affordable, and the inn was in easy access to everything we wanted to visit in Homer before setting out on our camping trip at Kachemak State Park. If we head back to Homer again it will be spent in part at Pioneer Inn. No criticisms, only the highest marks. Mort & Ethan

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaskaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel has a beautiful view across the front garden; our room was a condominium so equipped with kitchen etc which we did not need but ideal for larger group or family staying longer. Owners exceptionally friendly and helpful. Short walk to good restaurants or breakfast places. 5 minute drive down to Homer Spit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harley003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

we stayed here for 8 days and it was great. richard and amy and the boys were so nice and friendly. great walking distance to everything. the inn was very clean and very nice
we will do it again.
the mattox family

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MATTOX23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I picked this place because it was cheap ( for Homer) and it got good reviews, and I am glad I did. The location is great, the owners are super nice, especially Amy, and I felt like we got a lot of space for what we paid. We stayed in a suite with two rooms--one with a kitchen, tv, a couch and a daybed, and the other with a bed, dresser, bathroom, etc. The decoration is not whimsical or cutsy ( which I find annoying anyway), but if you are looking for clean, quiet, affordable, etc, then you couldnt go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
929 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spyglass Inn B&B
The Spyglass Inn B&B
#11 of 40 in Homer
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
108 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 31 in Homer
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Inn Homer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Inn Homer

Address: 244 W Pioneer Ave, P.O. Box 1430, Homer, AK 99603-7526
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: $83 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Inn Homer 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family owned hotel in downtown Homer is in one of the most convenient locations in town. Located next to the award-winning Pratt museum, you can walk to some of Homer's best restaurants. Most rooms have views of the bay and glaciers. All units have full baths, cable TV, wifi and in-room coffee. Kitchenettes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pioneer Inn Homer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing