We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun trip across the bay!”
Review of Seldovia Bay Ferry

Seldovia Bay Ferry
Ranked #15 of 52 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
brinkone2@aol.com
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fun trip across the bay!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was our daughter's birthday so we decided to go to Seldovia to spend the day. It was really quite interesting to get away from the spit for the day. We went to all the shops and ate lunch at a place overlooking the water and got ice cream and then it was time to take the ferry back. It was a fun day for us, and it wasn't crowded.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brinkone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great ride on a sunny, or half sunny, day”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not cheap, and there's really not a lot to Seldovia, but this is nonetheless a very entertaining diversion, even when it rains, as it did upon our arrival, cats and dogs. Once the sun came back out, Seldovia was a very pretty little harbor town to take in, especially the Boardwalk area. The Tide Pool Restaurant is good, and serves excellent pie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mebcaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Seldovia itself is a small village with some pretty good restaurants.
Be sure to take the ferry and have lunch in the town. Take a stroll and see the houses on stilts and the resident Ocean Otter in the marina. Good way to spend a day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hatsbykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYOB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stroll in a scenic town.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Began the trip with gratis coffee (or tea) and relaxed on the trip to Seldovia.

Husband and I walked all over town, up and down the slough.

All in all a nice day trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuwe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a quick, friendly boat trip. The view of the mountains, volcanoes and glaciers from the boat are phenomenal. We were lucky enough to also see some otter. Stand on the deck for a chilly but beautiful ride or go inside to warm up with free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. I think Seldovia is worth the day trip. True there is not much Russian influence now, but it is still interesting. The change in the tide alone in the harbor is worth a look. The town is friendly with beautiful flowers and a board walk. Picturesque and scenic. Friendly people. Quite a hippie town (even more than Homer). The tide pool cafe was really surprisingly good. The visitor center and museum has some nice info and displays. And there were a few really nice gift shops - my favorites were Creationz and Thyme on the Board Walk. Also see http://www.seldovia.com/to-do/101-things-to-do-in-seldovia/ for other things to do there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seldovia Bay Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing