We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“schedule”
Review of Seldovia Bay Ferry

Seldovia Bay Ferry
Ranked #16 of 52 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“schedule”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Be aware the ferry does not go everyday. Our plan included a trip to Soldovia on a day we couldn't get there. Maybe next time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NonFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride. Great people.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We rode the Seldovia Bay Ferry from Homer to Seldovia and back. We saw whales and otters on both trips and the boat even stopped for us to take pictures of a whale. Camille was wonderful - pointing out animals etc. In spite of the rain the boat was very comfortable. Would give it a 6 if I could.

Helpful?
1 Thank KristaDanville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ferry, lunch and the "Otterbahn" trail”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A great alternative day trip from Homer. Just a quiet little seaside Alaskan town, just barely making it...cute harbor and fun walk through the boardwalk into the residential area. Had a great lunch at the Tide Pool Cafe, and then a hike out the "otterbahn" trail. The trail is easy, I think just over a mile or so, and you end up out at the bay watching some otters play.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had an open day in Homer and chose to ride the ferry over to Seldovia. For $23 per person each way it is a good deal. The boat is fast, clean and looks pretty new. It is a smooth ride across the bay with great views of the mountains. You arrive to Seldovia at about noon and return at 4:30 pm. We ate at the cafe in Seldovia and hiked for 2hrs before returning to the harbor. I'm not sure we could have filled 4 hrs in Seldovia on a Sunday. The town itself is pretty small so pick a nice day and go for a walk.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JackG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
600 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Don't bother with Seldovia AK”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The ferry trip was great. The captain spotted two humpback whales and gave us plenty of time to watch them. Captain and crew were great. But..... do not buy the tourist hype. This place is dead and/or dying. Half the town was boarded up and for sale. There was one place open for lunch - I would only say okay food. Waste of time and money. But ferry gets kudos.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seldovia Bay Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing