We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, great location, great staff”
Review of Ocean Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Shores
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We spent three nights here and the staff was very nice and helpful My husband left his cell phone in the room when we left and they mailed it promptly without charge. It looks very plain from the outside, but the rooms are clean, roomy and have nice views. We had Bald eagles in the trees behind us and it was very peaceful. Its a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nautregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is one of the best places we stayed while in Alaska. The room we stayed in was large, clean and a great value. Our room had sliding doors with a deck that looked out on the water so we were able to watch the sunset from bed.

Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oranisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This motel was not worth the cost. When we checked in the teenager behind the counter didn't even offer a polite greeting. The room was clean (I'll give it that), but was stuffy. It was really hard to sleep at night because there was no air circulation. The wooden boardwalks outside the rooms were so noisy and it seemed like kids were running up and down the wooden boards day and night. We were happy to stay away from the motel all day. I will go back to Homer, AK, but I won't stay at the Ocean Shores. At the very least, they need to install fans in the rooms.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank 1livetowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed 2 nights, July 5th and 6th 2009; photos exactly accurate; room spotless, we had the iditarod room also (enjoyed reading each photo); perfectly clean bathrooms; if you want the west palm beach breakers (grand lobby, smaller rooms, $9 oj - been there - done that 1/15/2009) or the "hotel del" coranado in San Diego (nice lobby, every towel is an add-on - hope you are in main hotel not auxilliary - been there done that 3/200) - go there; if you want great AK value, friendly owner / family, great food recommendations, wicked clean room - stay here. Thanks everyone for a great stay. Wilton, CT.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4thatliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

If you are looking for the Ritz, this is not your place. However, if you are looking for value in a comfortable and clean accommodation in a convenient location, I would recommend. The room is simple, equipped with a small fridge, microwave, dining table and chairs, tv/dvd, and bed. Some of the furniture was a bit worn but the housekeepers do a superb job and everything was spic and span. We stayed in the beachfront building, not right on the beach but a short jaunt away, with fabulous, unobstructed views. Parking was right outside your building so very convenient for loading/unloading. The grocery store, museum, some great restaurants and the spit are a short drive away and worked well with our agenda. We met the owner/manager on our last day and she was lovely. Overall a great value in Homer and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makawao mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. Even though it looked circa 1950 from the outside, the interior was clean, simple and spacious. Our's was a waterfront unit with an outside balcony that provided breathtaking views of the snow-capped mountain peaks across Kachemak Bay. I counted four glaciers and some two dozen peaks. Listening to the ocean waters lapping below was an added touch. And we were blessed with frequent visits from bald eagles soaring by at eye level. We are budget travalers and, given Alaska prices, I would say Ocean Shores is the best value in Homer. I would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoon25425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We celebrated our 50th anniversary while staying here. What a great surprise to enter our room and find flowers, chocolates and a gift viewbook for our anniversary. The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the housekeepers. The view from the room is fantastic. Close to restaurants and museum. If we ever get back to Homer we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdicks1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.8 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Shores

Address: 3500 Crittenden Dr, Homer, AK 99603-7462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: $149 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Shores Hotel Homer
Ocean Shores Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing