We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food for price”

Don Jose's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #31 of 73 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food for price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Pleasant, clean. Food was very good. Price was very fair. Too much food for my appetite. Tamales, one of my favorite, were excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gloria246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    27
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I'm from South Texas so maybe I'm being bias, but this "Mexican food" is equivalent to the cheap stuff where I'm from. Unless you like runny beans, cheap rice, and taco bell meat I'd avoid this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Macy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Just Another Mexican Restaurant...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don Jose does a nice job, but it is really just another Mexican restaurant. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. The service was good as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We ate at Don Jose's twice while in Homer and both times we were pleasantly surprised. Great food and friendly service. The extra hot sauce is the best if you like spicey and the burrito is huge. When you get tired of eating fish, try this restaurant. Muy bueno!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank njoythejurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you're in the mood for Mexican food while you're in Alaska, (why, I can't imagine), then Don Jose's is you only choice. Located in Homer, it's easy to find. Prices are average and so is the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cparsons0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Don Jose's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing