We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away”

Don Jose's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #31 of 74 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Poorest service and most terrible food I have ever had eating out. We waited 20 minutes to be acknowledged after being seated.....another 15 for chips and sales and to be able to order and then when our food came 20 minutes later not one of us liked our meal

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    27
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Their food quality seems to be deteriorating over the years. But about 1 in 5 times I order something that I think is really, truly, delicious. I go to this place a few times a year as a good meet up with my girl friends for a cocktail or 2 and some food. The drinks are good, they really do know their way around a margarita. And their chips & Salsa are almost always impeccable just with the menu I've found the quality to be a little hit and miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ak_sarah_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute place to eat”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were in Homer and were happy to find Don Jose's open on a Sunday night when other places were closed. The staff was friendly and the restaurant colorful and welcoming. I had a great margarita and delicious salad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Your basic Mexican fare”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You want familiar Mexican food that you can get anywhere in the lower 48? Come on down to Don Jose's. The food was good, solid Mexican comfort food and in this large restaurant Jose himself served us our meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food Good, Service Not So Good”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food we were served was good but the service was very slow and our server seemed to be a little less than helpful or attentive when she found out we were using a coupon from the Northern Lights Entertainment Book. I don't see the issue as we tip on the total the bill would have been but she made me not want to tip her at all. Hats off to the chef though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Don Jose's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing