We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Bar! Great for people watching”
Review of Salty Dawg Saloon

Salty Dawg Saloon
Ranked #1 of 3 Nightlife in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique Bar! Great for people watching”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I think the purpose of going in here is for people watching. You will see a unique mix of individuals from all over and the place itself is covered in $1 Bills with people signing them from all over. We had fun putting up our own dollars. The beer here is STRONG so be sure and pace yourself. I am just giving it 3 stars it really isn't my type of bar. It's very dark in there and pretty claustrophobic for me as it's small with short ceilings. Definitely a unique place to check out while you are in Homer though!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sspanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    82
    28
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You need to go in to see this place”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A fisherman told us to stop by - so we did after our fishing trip - what a fun place, like nothing I've seen before on the inside. It's the oldest "bar" in Homer. The doorway is small so you have to duck your head down to get in.
Locals and visitors filled the place - it was a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sewfastnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Alaska 2011 Vacation”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great little stopping point to kick back and have a few drinks after a day of deep sea fishing or as we did fly fishing.

It was a great place to go with our group and just have a laugh. We added to the numerous dollar bills that covered the walls and can't wait to go back and find them again. Yes it's for tourists and is small and doesn't offer much but it's what you make of it; so make it a great time and enjoy Homer!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank babyheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our Alaskan friends insisted we stop here while visiting Homer and we're so glad we spent the evening here! We had a great time enjoying the local Homer Ales and chatting with other folks who sat down at our table. Bring a dollar to tack on the wall!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wildcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Spring, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kenai Penninsula Alaska 2012 Vacation”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A quirky little pub with friendly bar tenders and great brew. The patrons were many and from all over the world as well as some very nice local fishermen. A great place to meet new people, swap fav things to see and do in Alaska. We had to get a T-shirt and hat to bring home to show we had been there!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dawg Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Salty Dawg Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing