We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Alaska Experience”

St. Augustine's Sea Kayak and Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our kayaking base camp is located on the south side of Kachemak Bay in outer Peterson Bay. We have day trips and overnight packages available at this location. The site is off the road system and accessible by our water taxi. We located our business site at our house address in Homer as we could not put our real business location on Trip Advisor map without a street address.
Canadian, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Alaska Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Alaska in August of 2013. We had a group of six with ages ranging from mid-50's to 20's. Only one of our group had any experience on a kayak. When I booked the trip with Susan, we chatted for over 15 minutes just because she was so fun to talk to. On the day of our trip, the weather was cold and rainy (shocker!). We took the taxi over to the launch point and our guide, Kenny, kept us entertained for the entire ride. He gave us a thorough orientation to kayaking and safety. The weather cleared and our day ended up being everyone's favorite. Kenny has a master's degree in coastal biology; there wasn't a question he couldn't answer - and we tried! We saw many sea otters, seals, bald eagles, puffins, and other birds. We even saw a porpoise whale as it entered the cove. Kenny took us on two different hikes and was a fabulous guide. He showed us the great spots to pick berries. We did the full-day trip, but it seemed almost too short because there was so much to see. We were all wishing for more time. The trip was customized to meet the needs and wishes of our group. I would highly recommend St. Augustine Kayak to anyone wanting a friendly, family-oriented trip. Did I mention that Kenny brought us hot chocolate and tea? It was a truly awesome experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texranchwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great adventure + sights!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As inexperienced kayakers, my boyfriend + I made the bold decision to try sea kayaking and with St. Augustine's it was a great choice. Not only were the sights and wildlife amazing, Josh, our guide, was extremely informative and fun. He took us on an excellent hike for lunch and then to a river mouth where schools of salmon were splashing around. The owners are awesome and especially accommodating! We would recommend St. Augustines to anyone looking for adventure regardless of your level of expertise. You will definitely be pleased by the route, people, and beauty of homer's kachemak bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArielleKloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal sea kayaking with St. Augustine's Sea Kayak Tours in Homer, Alaska”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

For at least five years, my son and I have had the extreme pleasure of sea kayaking with the St. Augustine's Sea Kayak Tour guides around Peterson Bay and further. We love Scott and Susan and find their guides knowledgeable of the marine biology, vegetation, and history of beautiful Katchemak Bay. This year and last, we decided to join them on full-day tours, including hikes that were very interesting and fun. Sea kayaking with St. Augustine's is always the absolute highlight of my trips to Alaska, and I hope I can return many more times to join them. If you are fortunate enough to go on one of their tours, say hello to two special creatures, Bill "Peterson" and Bubba! You will be delighted you joined those of us who will forever remember the beauty, serenity, diversity and pleasure of sea kayaking with St. Augustine's!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaDWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Guide Josh and St Augustines was the greatest!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After a night in Halibut Cove, and at their recommendation, we did a half-day Kayaking adventure in Peterson Bay with St Augustine's. Maybe we got lucky or maybe the guides are all great, but our guide, Josh, was amazing. With our ten and twelve year old daughters, he paced the day perfectly. We saw and heard sea otters crunching clams like potato chips, seals, porpoises, and huge jelly fish. They even have a resident seal on their dock (Bubba). It was a great day! If you are in the area, don't pass it up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half Day Sea Kayaking with St Augustine”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

An awesome sea kayaking experience for the girls in our family while the guys went fishing! I took my 9, 11, and 14 year old daughters out sea kayaking with our guide Kim. She was the perfect person for the job as she really related to the girls. We were able to see otters (which were huge!), harbor seals, and jellyfish on our morning outing. It was a great way to see Kachemak Bay! Definitely recommended for all ages!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine's Sea Kayak and Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to St. Augustine's Sea Kayak and Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing