We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, and not to be missed.”

Bald Mountain Air Service
Ranked #3 of 55 Tours in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Your Alaskan brown bear adventure begins with Bald Mountain Air Your floatplane trip is over some of the most scenic country Alaska has to offer. Prepare for the awe-inspiring beauty awaiting you on this amazing adventure. And, if it's bears you want to see ... we guarantee it! It doesn't get better than this: a fabulous floatplane ride with eye-popping views; landing in a pristine Alaskan wilderness on a floatplane with an honest-to-goodness lifelong Alaskan bush pilot, followed by the best day of your life watching nature's most magnificent creatures, the Alaskan brown bear.
Odessa, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, and not to be missed.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We did the tour at the beginning of August and were flown to Moraine Creek/ Funnel Creek. The flight there was very pretty. Once we got there we ended sitting up a cliff and looking down at the creeks and the bears. There were many brown bears down and few can up the cliff and were quite close to us. The guides were informative and knowledgeable and obviously loved what they were doing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    14
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
trishlowe
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best thing we did in Alaska!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had the most amazing day with Eric and the bears...28 of them to be exact! Our trip was delayed about an hour and half due to fog. I was secretly hoping that it would be cancelled because I was nervous about getting in a float plane. When the fog lifted, we took off and it was the best flight I've even taken. It was such a smooth flight, it was surreal. After a short walk to the river we settled in to watch bears EVERYWHERE! There were so many of them and they were so close. It was absolutely the best travel experience and worth every cent. Ask to go with Eric...he was the best!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank trishlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bear Viewing from Homer, AK”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went on Bald Mt. Air via float plane to Katmai National Park. Found out most of the bear viewing planes are more like taxis that drop you at the site. At Katmai National Park we met with Rangers who gave a short talk what to expect and how to act when you run into a bear. No food is allowed on your walk in the park but there is a place to store food at the ranger station along with make-shift bathrooms and an enclosed place where you can eat. It is about a 1.5 mile walk (easy) to the water falls to see the bears. Enjoyed all the bears.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bearing Watching”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a must do if you get the chance. We took a float plane to Katmai Nat'l Park to sit and watch the coastal brown bear also known as Kodiak or Alaskan Grizzy feeding on salmon. Our pilot and guide was very experienced and very knowledgeable. They guarantee you will see bear and we sure did. We were able to get up close and personal with the bear. Never once did we feel threaten and we spent hours there. I'm am so glad that we decided to do this and would do it again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SVannoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“bear viewing cancelled, safety first”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

my most anticipated activity of our alaskan trip was the bear viewing at katmai national park. we were all looking forward to seeing the bears at brooks falls and at the same time so excited to be able to ride on a sea plane for the first time. it was already a cloudy and windy day. there were two planes that left together that morning. the one who gave the orientation was already warning us about the bad weather and it seemed to me that they were unsure of flying that day but had to try. so our pilot tried to fly for at least an hour over much turbulence (and in a small plane it can be extremely exaggerated!) until we flew into thick fog/clouds with zero visibility. that was when he decided to turn back and cancel the tour. the other pilot (we heard him on the radio) found a way in between the fog/clouds. our pilot, with 37 years of flying experience under his belt, did not want to risk it specially that we have to fly back to homer in the afternoon. he was thinking the weather pattern that day would not improve at all. at that point, i didnt care about the bears anymore. i just wanted to be safe. im not scared of flying at all but to me, that was the scariest flight ever. i was silently praying and thanking the pilot for taking our safety into priority. getting back our refund was no problem at all. i give it a three out of five because we were disappointed we didnt get to see the bears but at the same time, our pilot put safety first. the bears at katmai will have to wait until our next alaska trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jahzeel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bald Mountain Air Service also viewed

 

Been to Bald Mountain Air Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing