We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenai Peninsula Suites
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfy Cabin”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in The Otter cabin for 2 nights over Presidents Day weekend. The cabin is a nice size with a comfortable bed, a fold-out couch and a table and chairs. The cabin has a bathroom and a fully stocked kitchen that has a full size fridge, sink, microwave, a coffee-maker, dishes and silverware. There is also a gas grill on the porch. The cabin comes equipped with a flat screen tv and a dvd player. Outside there is a wonderful hot tub and an area for a campfire. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We originally were only able to book for one night since they were full, but they put us on a wait list and called us when an opening became available. The cabins are 2 minutes up the hill from downtown Homer. We enjoyed being so close to everything, and the amazing view from the bluff of the ocean and the mountains. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeegirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
149
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, AK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I can't say enough about how great this place is. My boyfriend and I took a winter trip to Homer to relax after a busy holiday. We arrived a day early and the suite we had reserved was occupied. Jen offered us an upgraded room and allowed us to remain there for our whole stay! The Puffin was an amazing suite with two king beds. It was nicely decorated with no small detail overlooked. The kitchenette was awesome: full refrigerator, plates, coffee cups, wine glasses, silverware, one small pot and one small pan, coffee maker....everything we needed! The gas grill served us well as we cooked on it two of our three nights. There were cross country ski trails right across the street which we took full advantage of (we had our skis with us). Oh, and the view!!!! It was amazing! Despite the very cold temperature during our visit, we took advantage of the hot tub which was very nice. The owners gave great personal service which was much appreciated. We will absolutely be returning in both the summer and winter.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Accomodations were nice but I think they were overpriced. Hot tub is oddly placed under what looks like a sodium vapor street light in the middle of the yard. The views across the bay are beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkisWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I heard about KPS through Groupon and even though it was for winter, I decided to go with a friend right after Thanksgiving. Our stay was well worth the drive from Anchorage. We stayed at the Wolf Den, which is a semi-subteranean room that was warm and cozy. We had a beautfiful view from the room and everything was wonderful. The service was fine, they had a TV and we did some cross country skiing around the property. It was very close to downtown Homer but far enough to where it was very quiet and peaceful. I would highly recommend it. Our room also had a fridge and other amenities including wireless internet which was great.

Room Tip: I'm sure any are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in the Bear's Den, one of the subterrainian cabins. It was lovely...well decorated, comfortable, private, very clean, and convenient. There is a communal hot tub and fire pit and the whole operation is top knotch. The view from our cabin was beautiful and the cabin itself was awesome. It was very quiet and sound-proof, even when we had neighbors in the Wolf's Den subterrainian cabin. It was very easy to get into Homer and explore it then return to a great environment. Very well done!

Room Tip: Any of the units seem very nice, but the subterrainian cabins are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stpatrickgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a great time. We stayed here in August of 2011. We stayed in the Bear's Den. It is a room that is partially submerged into the cliff. The view was spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed in The Puffin (a unique log yurt design). The view was amazing and easily seen via the large windows and covered porch. It was also private enough to give a cozy feeling of seclusion. The hot tub and fire pit are wonderful touches and all have the same view of the bay and mountains. The Puffin had a wine-opener and wine glasses included --along with many other thoughtful touches -- that made our stay perfect...We'll be back...Can't wait to sit in the hot tub while it's snowing...

Room Tip: It has a gas grill on the front porch so you can "cook-in" if you wish...dishes are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpsaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.9 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
4.8 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alaskan Suites
Alaskan Suites
#2 of 28 in Homer
212 reviews
9.3 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#3 of 28 in Homer
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Peninsula Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Peninsula Suites

Property: Kenai Peninsula Suites
Address: 3685 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-9271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kenai Peninsula Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with an Alaskan lodging experience overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay in Homer Alaska. Breathtaking view, hot tub, fire pit, 50 plasma TVs and wireless internet. Boasting your choice of newer cabins of outstanding craftsmanship and unique architecture, designed and furnished for your absolute comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kenai Peninsula Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing