We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steller Air Service
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing day

We're very happy with our day going to Brooks Falls with Steller Air. I found texting with Andrei... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2019
MyKidsRSaints
,
Illinois
Bear viewing

Great adventure to Brooks Camp to watch bears in their natural setting. Deb is an experienced... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2019
AHMCPNP
Read all 98 reviews
  
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
90
2
1
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
90
2
1
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brooks camp float plane trip ice field funny stories bear viewing salmon pristine wilderness knowledgeable pilot kenai fjords an amazing experience great pilot beautiful flight katmai national park highlight of our trip bear country great bear once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 98 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Loved my day bear viewing! The office is a nice place to wait a sip a coffee and chat with the pleasant staff before the float plane arrives. Our pilot and guide Doug showed us around the Brooks Falls area, and it was incredible. Even though the rangers we talked to said it was a 'low bear activity day', I saw plenty of animals both fishing and on the paths. The coolest part is that the bears use the same trails people do, so you'll come around a corner and one will be right there, or you'll notice one in the brush a mere 15ft away. The craziest part for me was how silent these massive animals are! The flight over is insanely gorgeous, and on the way back Doug took us on a detour over the McNeil falls, so we could see even more bears. Stephanie even greeted us personally when we arrived back in Homer, lending the trip a personal feel. Be aware that there is no food allowed inside the park, so be sure to eat a big breakfast; If you do pack a lunch, you can eat it on the flight back.

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank MissingFromOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I did a one hour flight see out of Homer with Steller Air. It was an amazing experience. Stephanie, our pilot made me feel comfortable the entire way, and was very informative on the history and development of Kachemak Bay. We flew over the glacier, saw a mountain goat perched on the side a cliffs, and explored the town of halibut cove. The service was amazing and i would recommend it to anyone.

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank ForrestG113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went out with Steller Air Service on July 17th 2012. Tom our pilot, was fantastic ensuring that we had a smooth flight into Brooks Camp, which was all the better as my wife had started the day with a migraine and getting her to fly was almost a miracle.

We had smooth skies, with great visibility which obviously makes a difference to the experience.
The scenery on route was spectacularly beautiful. If you're going to Brooks Camp,( It's worth going the distance to Homer to cut out companies that either rely on 3rd parties to complete their flights or won't give any sort of refund if the trip is cancelled due to bad weather. Believe you me, we researched all the operators and none have a better cancellation policy.)

After landing, we went to the Bear orientation seminar and Tom accompanied us throughout the day, sharing funny stories and also clearly showing a strong love of where he was and the beauty around him as well as a great interest and love for the Bears.

Once at the falls, we initially went to the lower falls where there were 3 Bears in the water. Even though we were at least 300 yards away, this was the closest we had ever been to Bears and we were awestruck.

The Ranger then advised that we were next to pass through to the top viewing platform where there is a limit each hour of 40 people.

The anticipation as we approached the platform was buzzing as a Bear came across the path above and another below us, each heading for the falls to feed on the arriving Salmon.

As we arrived, the sight that met us was spectacular. We were now 20 feet away on a raised platform from a Grizzly below us and about 100 feet away from the closed Grizzly in the water, submerged, all but for his head, awaiting a catch of fresh Salmon.

We spent our one hour on the platform which seemed to fly by so quickly and experienced the real joy that being so close to such majestic animals can bring,

Afterwards, Tom patiently waited as we made a few purchases from the small gift shop, which included a awesome Grizzly Bear Zipper Pull made by WM Spear in Juneau ( a shop we visited later on our vacation - check out http://wmspear.com/ )

After collecting our gear from the secure store and our lunch from the plane, we headed back to Homer, again experiencing the wonderful flying skills of Tom and on landing, his delicious cookies.

Yes, it's not a cheap day, but as for value for money and a once in a lifetime experience, Stellar Air gave us a wonderful day that will be with us always and I would highly recommend them if you want to go to Brooks Camp to get close to Grizzly Bears

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank patc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Stephanie is awesome! Tons of experience in all kinds of Alaska flying scenarios. The Brooks Falls trip is the one my kids and I did. Profoundly beautiful flight out. Great takeoff/landings!

Thank jvaleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our flight was amazing to Katmai Nat'l Park, Brooks Falls to view the Brown Bear feeding on Salmon. It was the most exciting and by far, the best part of our Alaskan vacation. Doug, our pilot stayed with us in the park, was informative and answered any questions we had. We would recommend Steller Air to anyone who wants to fly out and have a great experience.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews