We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Place to Stay While in the Homer Area”
other travelers have booked this property
dining with a veiw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining with a veiw
full kitchen comfort is key
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
dining with a veiw
full kitchen
comfort is key
comfortable leather  furniture
comfort with blackout curtains
Plenty of room
bedroom 2
boat across the bay for dinner
this is your view
let's go fishinng
living room
Good Morning View
local neighbors
Sand Hill Cranes come for a visit
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Pastel sunset
Hallway
Rainbow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AnikaM188
Boulder, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay While in the Homer Area”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We made reservations for this rental in January of 2016. During the course of the year I had great expectations for our stay in the Homer area. Without-a-doubt this vacation has been the best of my lifetime. Having the opportunity to stay in such a well kept beautiful place made our stay comfortable and restful too. The owner has thought of everything a traveler may need while vacationing in Homer. She provided maps and wonderful suggestions for food and groceries. The kitchen is well stocked with necessary equipment and the beds are very comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!!!!!
Liked least: There is nothing I would change.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you, I'm so glad you a great vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew n
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem with a view.”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were very impressed. The accommodation was perfect for 2 couples. Very private and quiet. Check out the cupboards before shopping. Lots of extras.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The windows did not open
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
THANK YOU!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globalkds
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best stay during our trip to Alaska”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Everything about our stay at this property was perfect. Jeanette was terrific regarding directions and recommendations for shopping and dining during our stay in Homer. Besides this property being immaculate, Jeannette has thought of EVERY detail a family traveling may want or need to make their stay more comfortable and convenient. By the way, the name Glacier Vista for this property summarizes the scenery perfectly.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
Thank you, please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MureenB
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sign the lease and brace yourself for awesome”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Everybody has written all the benefits on their reviews. I reinforce that Jeanette aims to please and is easily accessible for anything you need. There are even extension cords, a charging station, hdmi cables, music player, binoculars and more. Let me give you some helpful hints to grease the skids on your vacation:
1. Grocery shop after you get to the house and see what's there. Many condiments, cereal, spices, oils, bags etc are there for your use. What a bonus.
2. Eat at Two Sisters Bakery......it's much more than a bakery. Try the rock fish, highly coveted local fish, it's delicious.
3. Fish. Either deep sea (homer fishing.com was a win for us). Daniel is very popular and while a bit gruff, he does catch fish. Or lake fish for salmon.
4. Drive on Bishop's beach and try the local oysters from kachemak bay
5. Go on a bear viewing. Highly recommend Talon Air out of Soldatna (1.5 hour drive from here, do the noon tour). Cost was $350 vs. local cost of $500 on up!
6. If it's sunny and warm, close the wooden blinds in the living room to block the solar.
7. Have an outdoor fire
8. Drive to Ninilchik to see the old Russian Church. Take the old a Sterling Highway Loop to see the more rural areas. If you want to see dip fishing, continue north to Kenai.

We had a lot of trouble with cell phone reception. Not just here.....throughout Alaska. It's part of the deal. Jeanette has excellent wifi at the house with range from the living room to back bedroom.

I hope this is helpful.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, cleanliness and amenities.
Liked least: Living room can heat up with solar if shades are not down
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thank you. Pleasure to have you as guests. Glad you enjoyed Alaska Vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S
Arizonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We got there after a long day of travel. From the moment of opening the door, it was obvious that everything was well thought out. Flashlights on each nightstand . Night lights for walking were well places. The Kitchen was clean and well stocked with Herbs and misc items like coffee and Filters. Without a doubt it was our best choice to stay in Homer. Jeanette was great and I I have to say thank you to her for helping make our stay a nice one.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahusker
Chino Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvelous!”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second trip to this property with our first being 4 years ago. We stayed about a week each trip and loved every minute of it. We travel fairly extensively and have never found a home better furnished with supplies and cooking utensils. Her view out the front windows of her house is breathtaking! She has a day bed in that room with wrap around windows at the front portion of the house that allows you to view Kachemak Bay 24 hours a day. Since the sun never really goes down in June, I spent several nights using the bed and admiring the view. Both back bedrooms have heavy curtains and shut out the light allowing you to sleep in almost total darkness. She has fans in each room to get some circulation if you need it, however it never got to warm. The home is exceptionally quiet with occasional airplane flying over or a car driving by. Jeanette is an excellent hostess and was quick to answer any questions we had. Homer, Alaska is one of my favorite spots of all time and as I drove away I felt a sense of loss. I have recommended this property to several of my friends and hope to make an annual return visit as long as I can. Thanks Jeanette for your hospitality and allowing us to stay with you in your beautiful home!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and the quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scrivster
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mostly Pleasant Accommodation with an Enjoyable View”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife, teenage son, and I rented this place for six days/five nights. We arrived to find it clean and well appointed, with all the amenities that were promised. The lawn was well groomed. The furnishings were great. Jeannette, the owner, was a fine communicator, and very nice. We were surprised upon arrival to discover that this place was only the ground floor of a three-story structure, but that turned out just fine; we had our own private driveway, and the run of the front lawn and outdoor fire pit. We had no noise from upstairs; it was as if we were alone, just as we wanted it. One oddity was to find many leftover items in the bathroom medicine closets and showers as well as the refrigerator; would have preferred those were empty, but not a big issue. At the same time, the owner had stocked the place with plenty of toilet paper, bars of soap, and fresh towels/washcloths of nice quality; that was definitely appreciated. Three disappointments: 1) The TV's mentioned in the rental description were located in each bedroom, but were quite small. 2) The WiFi that was mentioned as part of the rental was very poor in the front room (which is the best place in the house to be due to the view). I was continually kicked off the network when in that room. 3) That front room gets very hot during the day as the sun blasts away, and none of the windows open. The two exterior doors (one on each side of that one room) have no screen doors, so you can't leave them open without getting bugs flying in all over the place. The addition of screen doors would be marvelous!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view. Definitely the view.
Liked least: The inconsistent wi-fi when in the front room.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing